Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:43 AM - 22.12.04
Strange Days Indeed
Two women I know were featured for their accomplishments in the newspaper this weekend. The one won an award in the communications industry. There she was in the business page - way to go, Elaine! Next up was my friend who works for a non-profit, photos of the gala fundraiser she organized - she looked great.

Work wasn't too bad once I actually arrived this morning. I had a few bad moments both on the bus and the train with flutters in the tummy, but it was so empty I don't think much would have come up anyway. Just sat bolstered by the side of the vehicle the cold from outside keeping things bearable. Set up in the boardroom and was working away until about 9:30 or 10 am. The one lady who has gone out of her way to try and make me feel comfortable popped her head in to ask if I was aware of the staff potluck dinner at noon. She said there had been an oversight in inviting me but that I was welcome to join them. I just pleaded the flu and thanked her for including me. Truth was I wasn't certain whether I would be able to ride the train home if I ate anything downtown and I had booked an appointment with my chiropractor - all that weekend "action" had me a bit bent out of shape.

I didn't think anything further of it until I came back after lunch. Walking across the street back to the office my supervisor came wandering across at the light nearest the building. He said he was just on his way back to work, how was I doing. He seemed to think I looked fit enough to be back and that was a relief - I can't afford to lose any more time. I just assumed that we had crossed paths by accident. When I arrived back upstairs, the doors were all locked and I had to ring the bell for awhile before anyone would come to let me in. I don't mind not having a security card and code, but then I expect that I will have access ensured during the regular work day. Finally one of the workers who had left the party came and opened the door for me just noting that the bell didn't sound in the room where the party was being held. No one had heard it.

My co-worker was at our shared station when I finally got to the back. I asked if he had taken part in the potluck. He looked really uncomfortable - yes. He had been invited by the receptionist while we were both helping wrap gifts last week. Guess she forgot to pass it on to me. It was busy and maybe she intended talking to me about it on Monday when I wasn't there. Didn't matter to me really becuase I don't like socializing that much. I think, though, that maybe my co-worker saw the slight as intentional. When I told him I was leaving to see my doctor at lunch I'm wondering if he was thinking of last week when I left early for my appointment because I wasn't able to get any work done. To me that was just good time management and a way to calm down all at the same time. He went a scarlet colour and wouldn't look me in the eye when he asked if I'd been invited to the potluck. It made me wonder if he had called our supervisor to report the happenings of the morning. Doesn't make a lot of sense, but then again there is, as usual, a sense of something hidden within the work we are being aked to do and there is quite a bit of tension where some of the staff are concerned. There are bursts of anger sometimes that aren't commensurate with the situation being addressed. Maybe my superisor is just being extra careful where I'm concerned because of the last assignment or maybe I'm just being paranoid. Probably.

At least now the staff are giving me adequate notice when they need to use the boardroom. This afternoon one fellow came by and gave me 15 minutes to shift the files I was working on and my work gear so he could run a meeting. Fortunately the work station by the kitchen was empty so it wasn't too much of a stretch to get everything moved in that time. The station that I'm supposed to share with my co-worker is set up to hold one person maximum. Other than sitting on the floor nearby there would be no other way to work in the same space. It was also lucky in that my password for email still isn't working and the computer that my co-worker and I are to share is very slow. There is an extra unused computer at that empty workstation, so I was able to logon to my account there and work with the support staff in Houston without having to disrupt and lose time in my co-worker's routine as well as my own. Still no resolution to the problem, but the woman I was working with was very pleasant. She even apologized for having nicer weather than us, even though she felt it was too cold for her. Didn't bother me - I don't think I could cope with the summer heat in the Gulf Coast. There is only so much one can take off after all.

Left a bit earlier than usual partly because one of the women working in our area blew sky high when her supervisor by to talk with her. Problems with another worker in the same corner of the world. After it was clear it wasn't going to cool down or be resolved quickly I decided that discreetly removing myself from the storm center was just good sense. Also not having had any food for two days meant I was feeling a little weak but I didn't want to risk the tain ride with food sloshing around in the tummy - just in case. We had eggses for dinner, yes we did dear diary, and they tasted wonderful.

At home my attention was caught by a few news stories. Canada's person of the year Human_Rights was a very strange juxtapostion to the US person of the year Iraq_War and this story about internal tavel documents for the US Travel. Then there was our Prime Minister's peregrinations to North Africa Libya next to a story and photo of the esteemed leader of Elections Canada where monitoring of up-coming Middle East elections was being discussed No_Observers. In the mantime the British PM is travelling too Blair. Strange days indeed. The two good news story were the new Harry Potter book's release date July. Then there is this unique way of blending the meting of punishment for sinners in order to help some people at Christmas Creativity. Cool. At least things are going well in one world.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats