Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:22 AM - 15.12.04
mercury
Mercury Retrograde. Ms Kitty somehow managed to disabled my alarm clock last night in addition to the toilet paper caper. At leat that's my story. Didn't wake up until 7:20 which is when my train is usually entering downtown. Arrived at work at 8:30 and worked through the lunch hour to make up for lost time. Both my co-worker (tech support during the election) and I were working on spreadsheets creating different databases. Between four pc's using different versions of Excel each of those spreadsheets kept resetting the formatting we had set up and saved to the defaults. At one point it appeared that I had lost four critical columns of data. Managed to restore that but lost time and stress did not make me happy. Spent too much time on mechanical tasks too. Labelling records is rather important and it is the very last step in a long process of analysis and preparation. Most of the programs are fiddly, finicky and unstable and each company I've worked in seems to select something different. This program isn't the worst I've seen but writing up the intructions for use after we are done the project took nearly 30 bullets of information. Near the end of the day the laptop I was using gave the warning that the power was low and I was about to lose all my data. I had plugged it into a regular wall socket so I couldn't figure out what the problem could be. Checked the connection, and sure enough it had been unplugged somehow. I had been in and out of the boardroom where I was working on document analysis bcause I had to go to other areas of the company to research and verify different issues. Guess someone must have walked in and knocked it off without realizing what they'd done. I'm sharing a drawer for my personal belongings with the co-worker from two contracts ago. Went to get my desk in a bag at the end of the day and found it had been tipped over and a lot of the contents spilled out. I'm guessing he was in a hurry to leave - he had gone about half an hour before me - and just knocked it over as he was leaving. Taking the time to repack meant I just managed to miss my train as a result. Got home to find number one son and grandbabies waiting for a visit. Fed them, the at home sons and cats and then headed to work with you dear diary. Realized that the security functions from my service provider had been corrupted - again - and disabled. Guess what I've been doing for the past couple of hours. Right talking with their instant message support system. I'm really cranky at the moment so I won't way what I'm thinking but I think I'd better go to bed before I miss another train. Good night, dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats