Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:04 PM - 06.12.04
Quandries
It was the cats - they were being brats. It started when I tried to go to be last night. I had washed my hair and the kittens who live in my bedroom - Ms Kitty and one of her daughters are feuding so we keep them in separate rooms - Ms Kitty now tolerates me sleeping in her room as a guest. Although Ms Kitty only had one kitten the other two who produced babies didn't have enough milk to feed them all so we transferred some of the weakest ones to Ms Kitty for the expert parenting that she does. Those kittens have decided - especially Ms Kitty's daughter Snowball - that I am one of them and belong in their rituals. Ms Snowball despairs of my grooming skills and is constantly cleaning me up properly. My ears are her favorite target - apparently I don't clean behind them well enough. So when I went to bed last night, I suddenly had three kittens all working feverishly to clean my hair of the conditioner I had used. I finally had to scrunch down under the covers and pull the blankets tight above my head to stop the onslaught. The attempts at tunneling in to reach me finally stopped an hour later - about one in the am. At about two I awoke to hear Ms Kitty scolding vigorously with little pentinent mews interjected. The sound escalated with the babies now crying so I got up to see what was the matter. Apparently the little ones sleeping on the vvent where the hot air blows into our room was not acceptable to Mama cat. The babies weren't moving an inch but they were afraid of the talking to they were receiving. Can't really blame the babies either - there is a cold draft in the room and their fur coats aren't that thick yet. Finally settled things down again and was in a nice deep sleep when Ms Kitty dive bombed me until I got out of bed at about 4 in the am. Turns out one of Ms Kitty's daughters had managed to open the door to the nursery and all those kittens were roaming all over the upstairs. That isn't too bad but no barrier to the basement made it a bit dangerous. Ms Kitty thought I should know that and do my duty as family nanny. Finally got back to bed about 5:30 in the am.

The reason for that little story was that when the alarm rang at 7 in the am I was feeling quite sick. I'm sure it was just the lack of sleep, but given that I had just finished the antibiotics and that it was very cold - 20 C I decided that spending three to four hours travelling on transit to go to an interview for half an hour maybe wasn't such a good decision. On top of that my gut instinct was telling me not to leave the house today. Maybe just wishful thinking but that particular sensation is pretty accurate. The short of it was I called the interviewer and rescheduled the appointment for tomorrow. Went back to bed until the phone rang.

It was my supervisor. He was trying to send an email to me and they were all being bounced back to him as undeliverable. He waited while I walked into the computer room/nursery so that I could try to trouble shoot from home. As I walked in those wandering kittens from the night before greeted me with a chorus of mewling and crying because I shut the door before they could run out and I hadn't brought food with me. They were climbing all over me as I was booting up the beast. I could hear laughter at the back of my supervisor's voice as he listened. At least he didn't think it was me - at least I hope not. Anyway several attempts between the two of us working each at our own computers still idn't solve the email problem. He asked for a re-written resume for an assignment that would start "shortly". Could I do that as quickly as possible and then deal with my internet provider so we could communicate as required. Yes of course.

Did the rewrite and sent it off then decided that I'd better feed the kittens, who were still climbing all ove me and the keyboard so that I could concentrate on the email issue. By the time each and every cat in the hat/house was satisfied with the maid service my supervisor was on the phone. He had made some amendments ot the resume - had I got the email fixed yet so he could resend it? We tried a couple of things to facilitate that but couldn't although there were nearly 40 other emails sitting in my inbox all with the same address as the one he was trying to send using the reply option on one of my previous missives to him. Oh bother. Anyway, he faxed the changes to me and I read them in between instant messages to my service provider. Spent about 45 minutes working with them and was assured after a suite of diagnostic tests that everything was "ok". As I was signing off with them my supervisor was calling back and asking for approvals on the changes. Accepted. Tried the email thing again and of course it didn't work. The service provider had been blaming the IT team at my supervisor's work for the problem at one point and I had faxed that part of the "conversation" on to himso he could ask their techs to resolve the connectivity problems there. They determined that there were no problems at their end so I was back to square one. Logged back onto the service providers' instant messaging tech support line again and spent an additional hour plus on the phone. They say it's fixed now. We'll see. It was nearly 4 pm by the time I was done and I wasn't about to ask my supervisor to test right then. Tomorrow maybe. On the second call he asked if I'd be available to start back to work this week if the client decided they wanted me on site. I explained about the interview scheduled for tomorrow and said I wanted to follow through on that.

I also need to consider whether I want to put off the schooling for a few months - will the opportunity to take those courses still be there when this potential asignment is done. What if an election is called earlier rather than later next year. How does that fit in? Our Prime Minister has offered to send elections staff over to help with the process in Palestine, the Ukraine and Iraq if it is requested. If I'm asked to help with that - how will I juggle all those commitments. What if I'm offered the full time permanent position and it has the benefits and wages that would make life comfortable - finally - for my sons and I. How do I factor that in?

There was a reason to stay home today for certain but I think I might have been better off going to that interview. Which options do I go with dear diary, the head, the heart or the gut? Can't I fit them all in? Don't know. Stay tuned for tomorrow's events, maybe I'll know by then.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats