Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:28 AM - 26.11.04
One step back
George II has never paid attention to the television before. Rightfully so - he has enough playmates to keep him occupied 24/7 if that's what he wants. Tonight, however, he became glued to the set. I was watching the late night weather. George kept trying to get that man's attention - patting his hand and meowing. When there were just graphics or maps George lost interest; when the short recap was done he wandered away only to return when he heard the forecaster's voice. Very strange.

When number four son arrived home about midnoght last night I asked him to give me an air quality rating for the inside of the house. Had we managed to get rid of any lingering odours? Yes, can't smell a thing. Well that wasn't quite true but it was a relief. My youngest and I paid for our clean up efforts though. Being that we're both asthmatic it is very difficult for us to do any type of housework that involves chemicals, dust or dander. Usually the maximum time we can manage wiithout repercussions is about half an hour in a go. I had done the washing out and my youngest had just carried out the bags of garbage that I filled. By midnight I was in full blown attack. I managed to get it under control about 1:30 am but then my youngest went in to the same thing and it was 6:30 in the am before he was comfortable enough to sleep. Bother. Part of that is because of the cigarette smoke from the other side of the duplex as well - it is unbearably thick. The combination means no rest for lung tissue that is already compromised. I don't know what we can do about the neighbours. Other than the fact that they love to listen to classical country music REALLY loud they are not bad to have around at all - except that smole thing. Needed something to pass the time and distract us so we watched Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Worked like a charm.

My friend with the farm responded to my email about boarding the kittens last night. Her barn is full of wild turketys right now - live ones. They eat kittens for breakfast. She put the word out among her community though so maybe something will come of it. I also e-mailed the Meow_Foundation to see what they could suggest. They rescue and place feral cats and kittens so I don't want to take up space in homes that accept homeless felines. However, I thought they might know of someone that would board the ones we have. Haven't heard back yet but it is almost all volunteers and they have a lot on their plates already. In the time that they've been in operation they have saved almost 1500 cats. Our cas from the oldest to the youngest all seem to sense a decision has been made about them. They are showing signs of distress and are all trying desperately to cuddle with each other and us before they're split up. If I could think of a better option I would happily go for it but my youngest and I can't breathe well enough to last the winter in such a small place with so many. Part of the reason we originally got Miss Kitty was because of a mouse infestation that hit most of the city in 2002. Prevention seemed a lot more humane than poisoning. The smell of used kitty litter on the deck seemed to be enough of a deterrent. On the news tonight there was mention of another round but we haven't seen one whisker. Apparently one case of Hanta virus has been confirmed about 100 miles north of here so the cats are also a good thing there.

Odd thing on the computer tonight. I logout and shut the beast off as soon as I'm done. The past week or so the kittens have become big enough to climb up on the chair and desk and they love to play on the keys. Some strange things have been on the screen when I've returned and I thought it was only a matter of time before some damage might be done to something critical. At supper tonight I logged out of my email account then powered down the computer so I could do the cooking. Came back about two hours later and turned the beast on - no e-mail icon, nada. Somehow, the software ended up in the recylce bin. I can't account for how it happened and it was my youngest who finally located it there. After he retrieved it I triued to reopen the recycle bin make certain nothing else was in ther but the message came up that a critical link was missing. I don't understand what's going on. Not only that but for the past week all my jobsite notices that come by email have been going directly into my deleted file instead of my inbox - everything else has remained the same. Too weird. Ghost in the machine.

Anyway I guess I'd better head for bed. My youngest and I had a doctor appointment first thing this morning to follow up on the antibiotic treatment, but we were too exhausted to make it. I can't do the two days with no sleep thing any more. Called and tried to explain to the receptionist that we were too sick to take a bus and sit in an office full of sick people today. Seems contradictory but when the immune system is that compromised the best way to stay out of harms way is to stay out of any place medical. Too many diseases floating around. She thought it was weird but finally relented and rebooked for first thing tomorrow. Hopefully tonight will go better. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats