Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:13 AM - 19.11.04
Tales
Just sent off another resume, dear diary, this to a new to me placement agency. Four months consulting would give me the breathing space to get all the applications and paperwork I need to go back to school for that one year. The acceptance was easy, the paperwork is deadly. No money coming in in the meantime. Some of my co-volunteers and staff that I keep in touch with think going back to school is scary, but it's my favourite place to be. If I had my druthers, I think I'd park myself in the religion/philosophy department of our University with minors in astro/bio/physics and environmental technologies - oh and anthropology too please. Not literature because I read for pleasure - don't need the grades. My problem has always been to decide on one thing - that's just too boring. I know most people count their success with how many things or how much money they gain - I always think of success as how much I learn. Trouble is one can't make the bill payments that way. Too bad.

I am planning to protest one aspect of the Provincial election on Monday so I went to the appropriate website to view the legislation. Election_Act. Civil disobedience or protest is fine and even necessary sometimes as long as it is done in a non-violent and effective manner, right. Change. The section I wanted was #107 on the "list of rules" (legislation), I think. Declined ballots. Since one can't write in the person one really wants to vote for and since "None of the Above" isn't on the ballot, it is the only option one has to indicate that one is protesting. As I was scrolling through, just comparing sections of the Provincial Act to the Federal and Municipal elections acts, I noticed something I thought was a little odd. I don't want to work on this Provincial election for a number of reasons, so I didn't even consider applying for work. Some things just don't seem ethical to me about the process. In the act there is a specific prohibition that forbids Federal Returning Officers from working in ANY position, even just handing out the ballots, in a provincial election. What are they afraid of - scrutiny? That isn't the norm in other provinces and the federal office hires provincial Returning Officers for support positions, so what other explanation could there be? Just petty I think.

Speaking of the election, apparently warrants have been issued with respect to the voter fraud in our municipal election - according to the late night news. Involves one of the candidates for the provincial election. Another candidate is up on charges of falsifying immigration documents and the beat goes on. The sad thing is that there will actually be electors who still vote for these people. I can't quite understand the paradox. Complain bitterly about crime in the community, but endorse those who appear to be active in it to some degree or another. Where's George Carlin when you need him? Baseball

There is a new service with some of my e-zines - video clips of people who fit the category of the interest the e-zine presents. The clip of Mr Carlin doesn't need any comment. This one, though, was another trigger for a temporal shift. Mountaintop. I watched this speech by Martin Luther King Jr. on televison as it was first broadcast. As a child I caught the biblical allusions, but not the message that he was trying to convey. He knew what he was facing the next day or so, but chose to accept it, though the struggle was evident on his face as he spoke. As a result, when I watched it today the impact of his speech on me was even more powerful than the first time I saw it and that takes a fair amount of doing.

Headline to trigger questions today were Trade. And that's all for today folks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats