Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:56 PM - 15.11.04
Free will
Well the paperwork just to complete - I hope - getting all the suppliers and workers from the election paid took about eight hours. The comment from the caller from Ottawa was that it shouldn't be so hard to fill in a few forms. No it isn't. However, taking time to go through all the financial transactions and pay cycles to ensure that what I sign and authorize is correct takes a very long time. Turned out some of the suppliers and workers didn't work for our electoral district. Some I could redirect with a fair amount of confidence to the correct electoral district, some I couldn't. Had a couple of companies where some of what they were claiming had already been paid while part hadn't. The proof has to go with the authorization forms too.

Then there was the staff member who keeps upping their claim. They passed the limit and then some. According to their demands they worked longer hours per day than I did - two days they claimed more than 24 when all the little bits andd pieces were all put in one spreadsheet. Uh huh. I can more than empathize with people who honestly didn't get all their pay as can the staff in Ottawa but no one has much patience left for those who seem to want way more than they are entitled to and who are belligerent into the bargain. Miscalculations are a possible explanation and I'm certain most people have made errors on their bank statements or timesheets at least once - I know I have. However, this person has been provided with proof twice now that they have received all their money. Reminders that is the taxpayers dollars that we are protecting from abuse going out in a letter I guess.

My youngest and I visited our doctor today. Both of us have been struggling to breathe because of the air pollution and to deal with the bad work/no work stressors too. I think our immune systems finally crashed and succumbed a week or two ago. Add into that that we are still working at clearing out all the cubbyholes and corners that have been missed over the years because I just couldn't hold down two jobs, raise six sons and keep an immaculate home too. What's wrong with me? Some of those little dark places still have residue from the mice that invaded our home and most of the rest of the city during the summer of 2002. That's one of the reasons we started our cat family. The doctor thought maybe some of those allergens caused infection to settle in our lungs.

Could be although I date my problems back to the day at work when I drank some tea at the end of the day and my mouth and throat began to swell shut. That was the antihistamine entry a few months back. I've had earaches off and on since that - when ever I started to get run down or overstressed. Immune function compromised plus mouse/cat dust equals bronchitis I guess. Our appointment was for 10:40 am but it was noon by the time we were back on the train platform. Met my oldest at the grocery store on the way home, swung by the pharmacy to pick up our prescriptions and headed home - 2 pm. I hate things medical and that's one reason. The time spent waiting and waiting in a room full of other sick people each of us sharing what we've got with the whole. The antibiotics will pick up the bacterial infections but nothing can stop the viruses. Bleagh. Add in the stress of checking the bank balance at the end of it all and I feel worse than when I started. I know cheese with whine.

Interesting e-articles today. One about global warming Mayan style clear_cuts explains why those pesky leaf bearing trees are critical to our survival. Plant a tree - your grandchildren will savour it's shade as much as the earth goddess herself. This story about Ottawa and electoral reform Townhall was a bright spot on the horizon too. Time to go finish off the rest of the election paperwork now, another few volunteer hours to go.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats