Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:42 PM - 12.11.04
Frustration
Not much to say today. Several more calls from Elections Canada yesterday and today wanting more work done "right now". Well you were paid to be on call for the three months after the election, you know it is mandatory. That's fine, but three months after the election was September 28. I agree that suppliers should be paid no question, but some of the ones cited didn't even work for me and I don't see why I should spend several hours recreating documents that my financial officer submitted the first week in July. Granted I'm not working right now, but the idea is that if I work I should get paid. I explained to you about the fact that only one Returning Officer in Alberta - that we're aware of - has had all their own fees paid out, dear diary. The rest of us are still being forced to beg to be paid for work we did five months ago.

Another article in the newspaper today about workplace violence and the legislation brought in to make companies accountable for the treatment workers are subjectd to. One of the comments about violence was that withholding resources so that an employee isn't able to fulfill their role is also an act of violence. It is encouraging that the laws are being put in place, but both my work situations the past few months have included acts of violence according to the statutes and the only person being punished is me. It's hard not to get depressed when I see articles like that. It did include the name of the legislation and a contact name so maybe I'll write to them. Right now I am so frustrated with things that I'm not certain that I should try another approach. Any more failures to get things resolved are just going to make me feel even worse.

Got an email from the friend I had lunch with the other day. Why not write a book while I'm unemployed. There's likely a book's worth of stories in my posts to you, dear diary, but I'm not certain that it would entertain anyone other than me. Might get me a trip to the loony bin though.

Another website was in the news today Apologies about the people who feel disenfranchised after the US vote. This one is a photo essay that runs to over 300 pages. Most of the posters are young adults, but there was a reasonable representation from older Americans too. It's actually becoming a bit disturbing that there is such deep dissatifaction. Civil unrest in our neighbour to the south would be a very scary thing indeed. When I was small and the civil rights movement, which I whole heartedly agreed with, was in full flood it was impossible not to wonder what would happen if the anger being expressed at the repression of half the population ever exploded. One could almost make the same case right now. Troubling.

Anyway I should go look at the election paperwork. I expressed my frustration with the whole problem to the person who called, but withholding approval for payments to others would make me just like the abusers I've had to deal with, wouldn't it. Besides it's just very unprofessional. My bad. I'll send in the paperwork tomorrow. Remind me too dear diary, to send out the thank you cards that are due. Maybe that will make me feel better. We'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats