Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:03 AM - 12.11.04
Ownership
I seem to be having very detailed dreams of instruction. Darn thing is I can't recall what I'm being taught once I wake. I know that during the sequences it all seems very logical, but then I often fly in dreams too, sans aircraft, so that isn't the best benchmark for normal is it?

I spent most of yesterday dealing with correspondence both to do with the courses I want to take and with the email security issues I've described earlier. Tiring in some ways, because I don't see any progress, but I know that each step has to be done before the next one is possible. My service provider is still talking with me on a regular basis. They switched me over to a business plan that is supposed to make things quicker and more secure - and it is less cost per month. Another security issue arose though when I called to discuss the terms of the contract. The service rep asked me if I wanted the two people listed as co-owners of the service on the account. What two names? Well, your ex husband and xyz. How did and when did xyz come to be placed on my account. In 1988 but we don't know how their name got there. What rights would they have had with respect to my account. Essentially every right you have.

Well xyz was one of the people involved with harassing me because of some of the volunteer work I did. Someone called and asked to have my phone number changed at that time and also had it removed from the phone directory at the same time. I never could get the service provider to disclose how that had happened, but that name xyz would have been a strong possibilty. The service provider did give me one year's free service, because they had made the error of following that person's direction but they would not reinstate my original phone number. That meant I missed a lot of calls/communication. At that point in time my name was listed as a contact for a lot of the volunteer organizations I dealt with. Not only would that have interrupted the flow of work and help coming into the organizations but it would have also compromised our reputation for reliability and responsiveness. Reputations are very hard to build when it comes to community work and too easy to destroy. That seemed to be the intent of the cancellation of my number. The service rep removed both names as we spoke about the contract but it left me feeling sick at the same time.

In the news about the elector fraud in the municipal election the local provincial member of the Legislative Assembly has now had his home searched by the police and some computer equipment removed as a result. his name has been added to the list of witnesses that will be called to testify starting at the end of this month. He is claiming it is a plot by the political party he opposes to discrdit him during the current provincial election that we vote in on November 22. I'm not certain how that works since the ordering of multiple ballots was done by members of his own board of directors - people who have been in his back pocket for a decade or more. How could it be a conspiracy when the party cited would have no influence over the people who appear to have made the choice to break the law. Given that there was already a court trial with respect to cheating that happened during his party nomination contest I think the pattern of behaviour is well documented publicly. During the last Federal election in 2000 the RCMP found that at least some members of that MLAs group had voted twice and they were told that they had to by said leader or some of his enforcers. I don't see how being caught using intimidation is a plot by the opposition either. In fact in both cases it is the law enforcement officials who are pursuing this not the politicians.

Continuing n that note was this article in The NY Times about imprisoning journalists for reporting the news Repression. Don't shoot the messenger. In regimes intent on repressing the rights of their citizens there is a pattern of behaviour that is classic as described in years of Annual Reports to the UN by Amnesty International. First the leader shuts down or takes over national and local press. Any journalist who reports what the regime is trying to hide is arrested or harrassed until they can't work any more. Next to be silenced are educators, medical personnel, scientists, youth, and the courts. Anyone who leads community opinion because of the trust and respect vested in them or anyone most likely to take direct action without having to consider the consequences. Further to that is this article in one of Vancouver's newspapers Moves that talks about the US citizens who want to seek refuge in Canada right now. That is so sad but the US's loss is our gain I guess.

This article Subsidy puts a cost on the amount taxpayers subsidize resulting health care problems the abusive practices some corporations inflict on their staff cause. Billions of dollars just for services with no estimate of the damage it causes to families who have to deal with the illness or death of their bread winners. This article in the Globe and Mail suggests a solution to the problem Taxes.

At home the cats are being very strange. Their big treat right now is to steal used tea bags from the trash. As a group they rip them open then play with the leaves. Are they of Chinese descent? Maybe some of their ancestors are related to those wonderful statues of lions one sees in Beijing. Ms Cheshire has been very assertive about marking her territory lately. She appears to think that if I am going to leave the house then my coats should be marked so that the "outside" knows I belong to her. I realized that the other day when I was on the train. My coat smelled odd but I couldn't quite place the problem. Everything clicked when I walked in the front door and found her spraying one of my scarves for good measure. Needless to say the washing machine got a workout and Ms Cheshire got a stern lecture on proper protocols for spraying. Nowhere at all. Oi.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats