Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:32 PM - 02.11.04
Forward Motion
Go - VOTE - America Go!

Doesn't matter who you choose - well yes it does - but at least show you respect yourself enough to make your own choices. In Canada's last election the point was made that not voting is like going to a restaurant and being told that someone you never met before will order for you and you will not be able to have any input at all although you will not be able to leave the restaurant until you're finished.

The ending of the movie H2O was as good as part I - way to go CBC and Paul Gross. I wonder if anyone out there was paying attention.

Today was busy and productive. Went to the employment center to see about going back to school to upgrade. No problem. Well maybe not that easy. There are so many areas where I would like to expand my knowledge that I know I'm not going to be able to get every course I wasnt. In addition only some colleges and some courses are acceptable choices. Well I guess one problem cancels out the other then doesn't it? It takes from four to six weeks to get all the paperwork approved so I guess I'd better get everything in by the end of the week. Arrived at the center at about 10:30 am and was out of there at 11:15 with a mitt full of brochures and a head full of ideas. Exciting - yes. Grabbed a pedometer for my youngest on the way through the mall on the way to the train station. For his phys ed classes you see - on sale and under $20. I can deal with that.

Got downtown a bit early so popped in to the drug store for essentials then wandered through the book store across the way.
One of my friends from school is have treatments for cancer right now and is trying to find some meditation or relaxation techniques that work for her. We discussed using the I Ching as a mandala. My copy is about 2 decades old and crumbling around the edges so I thought i'd pick up a new one for her. Nothing available but I did find a copy on the Gnostics fro me on sale for under $10. I'll find a copy of the I Ching for her on-line maybe.

Headed off to see my chiropractor next, walking behind a couple of high school students hand in hand yet in a heated discussion of the effect Margaret Thatcher had on the United Kingdom. They deemed that she did both good and bad things, but no conclusive determination of net value.

Berry brown, my chiropractor was yet he said they spent most of their time inside the seven clinics they visited. He said the construction crew that came with them was rather toasty though. He enjoyed his tour of London and said they had spent the most time in Westminster Abbey. Looking at dead kings and poets. Sounds as though he was overwhelmed by the sheer volume of the history it represented. He allowed that it explained why such decisions were made in the "old country" though. Past habits and prejudices die hard. We talked a bit about the classism and its twin racism as barriers to large parts of the population ever being allowed to contribute to the greater community. A lot of wasted potential for certain. It was noted that North Americans were blessed in that we didn't have that burden of old baggage. Or do we? Not collectively, but every person here seems intent on dragging all that old garbage from their point of origin along with them when coming to this continent. It morphs into other forms of the ball and chain - say substituting wealth for class or race as the new ism that damages society in the same way as race or class isms, choosing violence as the first response to conflicts. Too bad Mr Clark and Mr Carter weren't held up as role models instead of hockey player who try to kill each other over a piece of rubber - and million dollar salaries.

My chiropractor said the biggest health issue in Malawi was malaria. There is simply no medicine not to prevent nor to treat. Why? All the plants that grow naturally to supply the barks and seeds necessary have all been destroyed by civilization of the community. Can some be imported from South America? Probably wouldn't be allowed to grow long enough to be of benefit. Ditto for the wild animal population. The only place he aw any of the wild life was in the safari park they visited the last day of their stay there. Sad.

Last visit of the day was with my sister's sister in law. She had been job hunting this morning too so we met to compare notes, trade information and consider other options. Tag team job hunting I guess. Lots of discussion of social and political issues as well. She was a little surprised at the way I was treated by the data management agency. I showed her the information and fax I sent my supervisor because I wanted someone else to give me their take on what effect what I had said would be. She felt I was too soft in my presentation but that's what volunteering with lawyers does to you. Never write anything that you wouldn't want to see in the hands of a judge, your mother or a newpaper editor. Cools things down in a hurry. Talked a bit about astrology and that attracted interest from some people at the surrounding tables. Next time the sister will have to bring brochures to leave out for those interested.

Home again and two more calls and issues from Elections Canada. Both irritating. Oh well best get on them now I guess. Good Night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats