Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:25 PM - 27.10.04
Trans-mission
Communication was the theme of the day although everything seemed a bit sideways, somehow. First call of the morning "Private Caller". I rarely pick those up but I was waiting for a couple of return calls one of which was likely to caller id that way. It was a male whose voice sounded like one of two males I know and would not have been surprised to hear calling. It also bore a faint resemblance to the brother at the place I was working but I couldn't see that as likely. First comment was "well I just dropped off a quote". Still no problem - both of the people I was thinking it might be have jobs where that is part of their duties. Then it got odd - "what are you doing". Why do you want to know. Some mumbled comment about election gave me to think it was one of the two in question. Then - "well I think I'll go to the time share on the Mexican Riviera in April - want to come?" Definitely not anyone I know. Who is this. Can't I guess? Well actually - no. It's K......... Sorry not this number. Well is the number ....... No definitely not. Well what are you doing, how old are you - then he started to describe me as though he did know who I was. That ended the conversation. The oddest thing though was that when I checked the reverse directory, the number given was someone with the last name of my ex, with an address one community away from where he lives. I don't use that name anymore and haven't for a while. Whatever.

Next call was from my sister's sister in law. The first days of training for her new job hadn't gone well - not even close to what she expected. I had tried to tell her what would happen, but it's in an industry that she has very little understanding of - they pay little, demand the moon. She withdrew and is looking again.

She also hadn't understood what I meant when I explained how I work as a consultant. Somehow, she thought that meant uninterrupted work even when a contract ends - like the one I just left. Nope and I tried to explain the process again. We talked about work alternatives for both of us later, so I think then it was clear to her that I need to find a job too and that I don't have any extra money to tide me over.

She is also beginning to understand more clearly how different the mindset is here as opposed to California, although comments from their Governor would not be seen as out of line here either. It was clear she was feeling very intellectually isolated. At least she's lived somewhere for the past 15 years where she could feel she fit in - the only place I feel that way is when I go for training in Eastern Canada. Until, that is, their stereotypes about Western Canadians create barriers that don't exist in reality. Oh well.

Call from the friend from the election. Again for some reason not realizing that I need to find work fast if I'm going to be able to make it financially. You mean you don't have any extra cash set aside? No how could I. I'm still catching up from all the sick time I had and lost wages as a result the past year or so. Obviously I am not expressing myself well, although I think I'm saying things clearly.

Emailed a friend about some courses I am thinking of taking. If I'm not working I should at least be upgrading my skills - right? Did she know anyone in the industry wit current insight into the most economic and credible route to take in the discipline I want to work on?

My oldest arrived with the grandbabies as I was finishing off that missive. Chaos reined supreme for a while. My oldest was printing off resumes again. He is finally coming to grips with the idea that there has to be a better way to support himself and his family. Time to move out of the work he's been doing for the past 5 or 6 years. My grandson just started ECS (kindergarden) and was excited because some of his new buddies will be at his birthday party this weekend. At first he wasn't so sure he liked school, but more guests at his own birthday party is something he can deal with.

E-mail from the security chief at Elections Canada. I had sent him the story about elector fraud in the municipal election to demonstrate that it wasn't just a problem at the Federal level and to clarify why what I was seeing was a concern to me. His response was - "well now I understand what you were on about better". I'm not certain I could have been clearer given that every time an incident occurred whoever was involved on my staff provided a written report in their own words explaining what had been seen by them. I'm not certain what else could have been said to make the issue more clear.

Next up - Called one of my sisters to check that my recent "sent" e-mails are being received and further discussion arose around political issues and problems at my downtown job. There again, but isn't the legal community already involved. Well not where what has happened to me is concerned.

Emails from my friends overseas in dangerous places. Each who wrote seems well and at ease for the moment - each talking about future events. That is a good sign I guess.

Watched the eclipse tonight and took a couple of photos. I'll take them in to be developed tomorrow, I think. Hope they turn out better than my verbal efforts to communicate lately. Maybe from now on I'll draw pictures instead of trying to talk.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats