Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:37 PM - 23.10.04
Mirrors
Snow drifted down soflty and steadily over the past day. Pretty, pristine, peaceful. The weather stations say that about 5 cm/2" of the white stuff fell, but on my balcony I'd say it drifted to maybe 10cm/6". What's a girl to do?

When my guys were little I loved making homemade soup this time of year. That nesting instinct I guess. I've had a craving for French Onion soup for a while so I decided that the weather required the making of said delectible from scratch. First up cooking onions. Good produce they were. The cats started sneezing as soon as I cut in to the first one. By the second one they had fled downstairs. On the third my eyes were streaming with tears and I couldn't see to cut. Remembered the rule about running everything under cold water and then I was able to chop up the other three. Maybe I'll try seeding my planter with them so that my flowers live more than a few hours. Started sauteeing those when I realized I had no beef broth in the house. Decided to switch to chicken broth instead which justified the addition of a nice white cooking wine to the veggies that had now expanded to include celery, mushrooms and garlic. Rounded that out with some rosemary, basil and savory with just a soupcon of tamarind paste for a bit of a tang. Last up some fusilli and mozarella cheese to give it some staying power and we were done. Ms Spooky sat, tail wrapped around her paws. watching every move I made. She tried to stick her nose into the brew when it was done, but finally realized it just wasn't made for cats. The others kittens had no trouble avoiding the tureen - give us fish guts Mom! Each to their own.

While I was waiting for all the flavours to simmer together I popped my ashtanga yoga tape in to the machine and worked away. Ms Pasha loves downward facing dog. She hops up in the curve of my hip and digs her claws in. Doesn't matter how far the twists and stretches that are added in to the asana take me, she stays put there. The kittens thought that if Mom was rolling around on the floor they should join in too. The Warrior II pose was their downfall though. At one point in the process you place the arm on the same side of the leg that forms the front part of the lunge on the top of that leg. The other arm is extended upward to form a triangle pose. Then that extended arm is wrapped around the back (pretzel style) and you try to "open the ribs up to the ceiling". I don't usually have any trouble with that - it feels good. However, one kittens loved the easy reach of my ponytail swinging along my back - my hair is now waistlength so it isn't much of a challenge to hitch a ride. Two kittens simultaneously decided that climbing up on my legs to reach their sister was a good idea. My legs went out from under me and I landed in a heap. I don't think I sat directly on any of the kittens - they're all still mobile. After that the felines sat at a respectful distance watching their human trying to imitate a cat stretch. What next?

Only other thing of note was an emailed link from a family member. pentagon. Left me a bit uneasy so I checked out the urban legends site and found this as a rebuttal Snopes. Neptune goes direct in a few hours - good thing.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats