Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:37 AM - 23.10.04
Drunk and Disorderly
My youngest and I spent the day rearranging and cleaning up the living room. The new to me couch that my Dad bought from his neighbours cost $50. Small investment but big improvement all around. None of the colours in the room work but at least it looks clean and neat. The cats were completely thrown for a loop. We washed walls and floors as went so all their scenting/marked territory is now unscented. They loved the fact that about eight of them can all sit on the back of the sofa and look directly outside. Should look pretty spooky Hallowe�n night come to think of it.

I think the reason I felt so odd yesterday was a combination of the telling of my stories I was allowed to do with both my sister`s sister in law and that one friend on Monday, in concert with the election fraud charges being investigated for the local election. The person who cheated - her husband purchaed space at a post office box service and her campaign workers ordered over 1200 mailin ballots on line in other people`s names - "won" the election by under 140 votes. She is still declaring that she and her team did nothing wrong. Considering she and her husband have been deeply involved in the cabal of the Provincial group I reference as corrupt for well over 20 years I can`t buy that line, personally. Where are Woodward and Bernstein now? The tip of the ice berg has become visible very publicly and people are actually looking to see what`s is there. It needs to be revealed completely now. Neptune goes direct on Sunday and there is a full lunar eclipse on Wednesday. Maybe that will
help.

More opportunities for catharsis this afternoon. Today the sister in law called again and more stories were told. This article in the Aussie News explains how domestic violence cost their country $8.1 billion in damages each year. Losses. Some more of my ghosts emerging both as a volunteer trying to help and as a wife trying to avoid my children or I becoming victims. Shouldn`t all that lost potential and profit be enough to mobilize outrage or action from society? Hasn`t yet. Single Moms are often limned as the cause of a lot of social problems when in fact a large percentage are survivors of domestic violence. Isn`t it time to stop blaming and beating down the victims. Especially the beating down part, society extending the perpetrators` abuse is the second contributing factor to the damage done to the women and children caught in that trap and to the costs to themselves. One would think enlightened self interest would take over with statistics like these. Would anyone blame the victims of a drunk driver for their injuries or death? How about people who are robbed - are they publicly blamed for being victims of thieves - for asking for it by having valuable property that tempts robbers to steal from them. Are those victims blamed for the violence and crime on the streets that often follows in the wake of those thieves. Why are women and children treated so differently from those other types of victims of crime?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats