Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:35 PM - 15.10.04
Autumn Leaves
My Dad arrived early this morning. I'd slept in, so my youngest kept hime entertained while I threw some clothes on. One of the benefits of having raised six children is that, if necessary, I can be dressed, ready and out the door in five minutes coming from a dead sleep. The reason I learned, of course, was self defense. With six little boys, any more than five minutes spent on my self meant that one or several would have to be changed or washed or located. Coralling them for any longer than that was rare.

Off to the farmer's market. Not the one I thought, but the new one that is located in the old army barracks that were closed down about five years ago when all our regular troops were transferred to a "super base" in Edmonton, our Provincial capital. Met my sister at the door and proceeded to browse for about the next two hours. Pleasant way to spend a morning. The produce was freshly picked and the difference in the quality and scent of the food was incredible. One of the things one finds in a big box grocery store is that the environment is almost sterile. I understand now how it is that aromatherapy can be used to induce various emotional states in people in office buildings just by putting the scent of a specific food - like pumpkin pie - or flower - like lavendar - in the ventilation system. It was very relaxing just being in the building. There were craft booths too and I ended up with an ankle bracelet. Something I had wanted for quite some time but just couldn't find, at least not in my price range for the quality I was seeking. Hematite and amethyst with silver bagots in between. The hematite had been magnetized so one doesn't even need a clasp. Just wrap it around the ankle and it conforms to the shape of the leg. Brought home fresh strawberries, plums, and spinach all of which was considerably cheaper than in our local grocery stores.

There were several booths at the market that made up a food court and we settled there at the end of our travels to have coffee and lunch. Simple Simon Pies for my Dad and sister and souvlaki for me. The fellow in the booth featuring delicacies from Scotland next to the Greek concession was teasing me after I had made my purchase. Traitor to my heritage. Truth was I was very tempted to indulge my craving for food from the "old country" but decided it might be more entertaining to actually bake Christmas goodies once a few more bits of housework are under control. Baking is also very therapeutic - especially Christmas preparations - and I actually have time. I think I might really enjoy being just a homemaker again if there was any way I could afford it - at least for a year or two. Not to be though. Set a time with my sister to meet at another market next week - might as well keep busy while I'm looking for work, right? Less stressful that way.

My Dad and I were headed back on the main road leading in to my community, just chatting about travelling to different places around the world. Suddenly, he spotted a van on the side of the road with a for sale sign on it. Turned at the lights and made our way through the maze of residential streets that had to be navigated to reach the treasure. Because it is in the electoral district I look after for Federal elections, I had a grid map in my head that showed itself as we were making decisions on which way to turn next. Guess all that map work is worth something practical. I had my cell phone with me, so we called the owner. 2001 Chev, fully outfitted with bunks, propane stove and onboard heater. Washroom facilities too. Price - well my Dad will need to think about that. He seems to be looking at smaller places to live in, so if he sells his current home he should be able to swing both and still be comfortable financially. Driving and just looking at the country side has always been therapy for him, so I hope he goes through with it.

At home my youngest and I spent about four hours just raking up all the leaves in the front yard. My poplar tree is 25 years old and really tall. All on it's own this year, it produced five very large, full leaf bags of leaves in addition to several "pumpkin size" bags. I had picked up some of the orange stencilled bags to give our yard that Hallowe'en appearance, you know. The children in the park across from my home thought it was pretty cool. We planted tulip and crocus bulbs as well and redug the footing for the black wrought iron railing that usually divides our walkway from the lawn. Someone decided to pull it right out of the wall and out of the ground in the middle of the night this summer. Because I was working two jobs I just never seemed to be able to find the time and the energy all at once to do anything about it. Glad I've had the chance to secure the outside of the house before the snow flies. That's forecasted to occur on Sunday, but then again it has been predicted several times now in the past couple of months without it ever occurring. We'll see. We've still to plant hyacinth and daffodil bulbs, so that will get done tomorrow.

Last task of the day after putting away groceries, doing laundry and feeding the brood was a bit of veterinary care. One of the kittens had scratched her eye a few days ago and it was starting to show some serious infection. Got it cleaned out and medicated, so hopefully that will be enough to get her back into the groove with the other babies. Her Mom and siblings were all very anxious that I do it right. Close supervision by a whole convention of cats can be very intimidating you know. Anyway good night dear diary. Talk with you tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats