Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:03 PM - 12.10.04
Synchronicity
The bus was full when I climbed aboard this morning heading out for my day with the medical community. No big deal I often stand, but this wasn't rush hour so I couldn't figure out where all the extra bodies were coming from. One very dapper Sikh jumped up from his seat and urged me to sit down. That isn't the norm - someone giving up their seat - but it was very kind. I looked back at the elderly Chinese lady behind me and thought that it was more important that she sit down. As I hesitated a young man - very obviously of the Rasta persuasion popped out of his window seat and shepherded her into his place. Where did all these gentlemen suddenly come from?

The train wasn't full so the ride in was a kaleidoscope of travelers moving on and off at various stops - musical chairs all the way downtown. Overcast and dove grey skies - pretty. Most of us wearing warmer clothing but not a lot of jackets yet. At the chiropractor's a good session. My doctor obviously feeling much better than last week, chatting about last minute preparations and how he would be communicating with his family while he was gone. His children are at an age where they won't say much, but I think they will still worry about their Dad. I noted that even though my friends in the Ukraine and the Middle East feel they are safe, I still worry about them. Young teens want to appear cool but they have very strong attachments to their parents still at that stage of development.

Quick stop at the drugstore and then off to see my medical doctor back closer to my community. I was about an hour early so I stopped in to the health food store and searched for a couple of herb tinctures that really stop an asthma attack in its tracks. From the difficulty I am encountering finding them anywhere I am guessing they have been added to the Federal government's list of banned substances. Wouldn't want the pharmaceutical companies to lose profits even though my health - and a lot of other people's as well - are severely compromised by their substitute products. The young man behind the counter was on his second day of employment. Knowledgeable about the properties of a lot of the herbs but not so sure about the stock that the store carried. We got into a long discussion about the political realities of the province and it was nice to talk with someone who wasn't blinded by the propaganda machine run by the ruling party.

Next up dropped in to the Chinese herbal shop down the mall to pick up some ingredients for my Dad and his neighbour. All the brouhaha about arthritis medicines that actually kill the patients has them stocking up a bit on their regular traditional Chinese medicines just in case. Then I headed for my doctor's office. The long weekend that had just ended meant his office was flooded with people obviously suffering from the most recent wave of flu and cold bugs. The ones that usually set in once school is back up and running. Waited an additional hour just to see him but I needed him to check my vitals after last week's stressors just to make certain I was in the "safe" zone. I was - barely. Good thing I didn't go see him last week right after everything blew sky high. He probably would have felt he had to do something to address the vitals at the levels they would have been at then. I waited so my body had some time to do its own thing first. Less is best when it comes to any chemical treatments - drugs - as far as I'm concerned. He asked a lot of questions about the work situation. He has been hearing my tales of woe for nearly three years now. He was quite concerned when I told him about the incidents the past few weeks. He knows I love the technical and research aspects of what I do so he didn't question why I choose my work but I think he was concerned about the level of risk that sometimes goes with it. He renewed my normal - least amount - prescriptions and I was off home arriving four hours after I left.

Two messages from two of my sisters when I arrived home. Did I want to go with them to the Farmer's market on Friday. Sure thing. Half of the area is taken up with food and traditional vendors and the other by an art gallery and specialty boutiques. I love poking around there. My other sister wanted to know if her sister in law could call me. She's been in California for most of the past 15 years, making her living as an astrologer. Apperently Homeland Security has determined that that plus being a Canadian has made her a serious risk to US citizens. I sometimes wonder if the US government isn't more intent on isolating and corraling it's own citizens as opposed to protecting them.

Anyway, after supper the sister called and we had a great talk. Part comparing notes with respect to things astrological, but more so to our political and social activities. Where were the best sources of information with respect to local and world events. Comparing notes on favorite authors and publications. Who to connect with if she wanted to involve herself in social issues that are dear to her heart. Who to see about establishing work credentials in the city given that's she's been away so long. She can apply for something called a waiver from the US government but she's not certain it's worth the stress and the considerable cost financially to her. Their loss, my gain. I noted earlier that my social circle had become much diminished as it always does just before a major transformation in my life. I also noted that this time round I wanted to consciously befriend only people who liked and interact with me as I am not for what benefits they gain by association. Good day all told.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats