Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:45 PM - 08.10.04
Advice.
I monitored the news all day yesterday with fascination and horror intermingled. Not what you think though. The last Federal election brought in a minority government. No minority government at that level has ever lasted more than a year and a half - that one because Prime Minister Trudeau was the very soul of Machiavelli at times. One government toppled in just 42 days, while another lasted 6 months. The first sitting of parliament was two days ago and the first non-confidence motion was slated for yesterday. The weakest one. More on tap for next week. If a non-confidence motion is passed it means that our Governor General may do one of two things. She may ask the leader of the official opposition to try and form a workable government or she may authorize the calling of an election. Yuh huh and yee haw too.

Come to think of it, the timing couldn`t be better now could it. After all, it appears that most of my staff - not all - have now been paid and I really need to get a new job. Sooner is better. But the cost for running an election in one electoral district is about .5 million dollars - multiply that by 308 electoral districts and that is a terrible amount of taxpayer dollars to spend when the art of compromise might work just as well if not better in protecting the best interests of citizens. Oh right, that is really the first priority for parties elected to the house. Power is the real siren song. Started calling some of my staff today even though trouble was averted today. I found the business card for the realtor who was so good to me last time as well and I think I`ll touch base with him on Monday. That is Canadian Thanksgiving y�ll, but better safe than sorry I think.

Heard from Elections Canada around suppertime too. Madame, we have here a letter of complaint. Two workers who did not do their job, but they want to be paid for their training. Checked their names and found that I had authorized their payment even though they had quit when they discovered they didn`t like the work conditions. That makes close to 20 people missed out on payroll. How many more? Problem with this duo was that they then wrote to Ottawa and attacked two of my supervisors` behaviour. Were they - or I - always correct? No of course not, we`re human too, but some of what they said wasn`t accurate - such as claiming we allowed 9 year olds to work at the job they had turned down. Not - at least not to our knowledge. If they had knowledge of such things, it would have been useful for them to let me know so I could deal with it. Called my assistant - the one just paid on Friday - and asked her for her recollections of the events. She gave me more details and now I just have to wait for my Financial Officer to fill in the other blanks. Another few hours work for free when I write it all up. Oh well.

Talked with my family about the problems at my downtown work place and the fact that I`d quit. I was surprised at how pleased they all were. About time, was the consensus. I don`t like walking away from challenges and I don`t think that anyone else should be perfect when I clearly am not, but at the same time I don`t think that I`ve been unreasonable in walking away this time. I went back through my posts since the beginning of this assignment and the theme running through it all was that something was really wrong and that getting out would be the safest and smartest thing to do. Letting my supervisor down and costing the document management company a contract isn`t part of that rationale, but the entry on September 9 or 10 noted that the liaison had told the company`s rep that she was contemplating terminating the contract mid-October in order to replace me with two people from the company they were taking over. Maybe the brother was told to pick a fight with me at whatever cost, in order for her to be able to justify breaking the non-agreement without penalty. I don`t know. If it wasn`t for all the unexpected bills that cropped up with the plumbing and such, I wouldn`t be so concerned. Elections Canada paid me half of what they still owed me on Friday, but that still won`t be enough to live on for long. I have to find other work. In that September 9 post, I noted that my supervisor said he was working on some other postings and had hoped to be able to place me elsewhere "shortly". I still have that voicemail so I checked it to be certain today. Yes, exact words. That is now one month ago. I called and left a voicemail just asking him how far along those negotiations were now. Potential jobs don`t pay real bills unfortunately.

For comfort and some sense of strength, I listened to the tape that my friend the astrologer sent me, as part of my reading in July, last night just as I was crawling into bed for the night. I was afraid I wouldn`t be able to sleep at all if I didn`t find some sense of hope somewhere. The panicked voices of my thoughts were getting louder and louder. His comments on work - hang in there until mid-October. After that things should start to get much better. Mid-October, next Friday. His other comments leading up to this point in time were bang on, so I guess I should just hang on to that for now - that and send out some more resumes I guess. Still he also noted it would be a "skinny Christmas" so I am a bit confused. He had also noted that August and September would be like the foundations laid for a house. What I did in those two months would set the tone for everything to come after for the next year or so. I think I did the best I know how in fairly challenging circumstances, but I don`t know whether that is good enough or not.

I did get a chuckle though - ok more than one - while I was listening to the interchange of ideas between us. That`s why I like him so much, the sense of humour and the ability to put things in their global perspective without preaching or condemning one. Special that Fishing_Guide_to_the_Stars. That one laugh though? Just as I was drifting off in to untroubled sleep, that Texas accent sounding in my ears through my headphones, was a discussion we were having about his astrological chart and how some of the aspects played out. I asked him for about the gazillionth time for the year of his birth, so I could look into his inner workings - turn about being fair play. He refused to provide that key piece of information, but went on to talk about Pluto transits he had experienced personally since that is the dominant theme in my chart right now. That placement of his natal Saturn and the exact degree of his natal moon as well? Gives me the year and the time of birth both. I found that very stellium of placements in the ephemeris this morning when I first woke up. A little rectification of the chart based on some of his own stories of his past and I should have a very good working model. So there Bubba.

Anyway time to go do that first draft of the chart and then back to work related writing I think - reports and reports. Oh yes, the other major topic in that astrological reading? What to do with you dear diary, my therapy and recreation all at one time. Do I take this writing any further? Don`t know. And the relationship advice he offered - brief after saying he`d get back to it later at the beginning of the discussion? Never date Scorpios or Pisces or Virgos - based I think, on recent events in his own life. Don`t know if or when that might be applicable either. Food on the table, bills paid, then as Ms Scarlett would say: I`ll think about that tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats