Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:34 AM - 05.10.04
compatibility
It was just one of those days I think. The brother had an urgent family issue to deaal with so I went into work even though I had been hoping to have some time off. I still don`t feel really well, but c�st la vie. It was really cool this morning so I was wishing I`d worn something heavier than my spring coat, Even with a long skirt and a chamois style jacket underneath I was still just one octave up from shivering. Got into work and the co-ordinator or whoever had the heat in the records center cranked up to about 29 C - that in an area with no air circulation. Fine - except the sister came by and said I would be preparing more documents for shipment to the potential buyers. Yup a whole day of lifting, shifting and carrying files and boxes. Add in pulling material off the fourth floor to bring back to the various scientists and it was one of those "sweating with the oldies" types of days - even without my headphones on.

The liaisons`comment was that I shouldn`t dress the way I did for work. Well I have to dress warmly enough to survive a one hour commute or more on transit each way. No leeway there. The clothes I own are all that are accounted for in my budget - zero expenses, nada. And if I did have money for clothes I most certainly wouldn`t spend it on the type of clothes she suggested. I like looking feminine. There are enough women willing to wear the boy togs, leave me be. At least my clothes are business dress and they are clean, no holes and functional for a variety of purposes. Paranoia set in about then and I wondered if the temperature had been cranked up so that I felt too uncomfoprtable to remain dressed the way I was. Won`t work but it may solicit a complaint to the building standards depratment at city hall. Election years are great for getting anything reasonable you need done.

Went to my chiropractor at lunch hoping he could do something about the sore hip that has flared up with all the day long stints on my feet lifting, carrying and twisting and turning. He has just had vaccinations for a number of tropical diseases before going on his trip to Africa. He was obviously feeling rotten and also a bit anxious. He desperately wants to feel good when he leaves to work on this mission. Understandable. The upshot was he was just a bit off with the work he did on my hip. Meant I went back to work feeling worse than when I left. Pinched sciatic nerve and a side of the afternoon on my feet - lifting and carrying in the stifling records center. All by myself. Should have stayed home I think.

Problem is it would be the brother who would pay the price and he really doesn`t need any more challenges right now. The notes he left me indicated that he had worked through the night. Around 9 in the am he called me from the hospital to make certain I understood what he had written. He was facing a very long day and he already sounded exhausted. There was no news by the end of the day although the sister seemed very distracted by then. Don`t know whether it had to do with work or family.

The bright spot in the day came at the end. There was about three days worth of work sitting and waiting for me when I arrived this morning with respect to the disposition. I told the liaison I had scheduled a meeting for 5 pm back in my own community meaning I`d have to leave at 4 pm. She said that was fine even though the deadline to have all this data out was last Friday. The business manager had wandered in around 2 pm and appeared quite concerned but again, this isn`t what I was contracted to do. It isn`t the brother`s fault or mine that problem health circumstances are putting a kink in the liaison`s plans for us. At least in my case I was never asked nor did I consent to the conditions we are being forced to work under. I am not going to have my health crash again.

The meeting was actually a scheduled outing for wupper with one of the election workers who became a friend as the event progressed. At dinner the more we talked about our childhood and marriages the evident that we shared a lot in common. In some ways it was nice to have someone else say - I know exactly what you mean and then add their own homily on the subject under discussion. Sometimes healing comes when you feel less isolated and centered out. That`s the constant at work -I need to be around people more like me on my own time. Nice way to complete the day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats