Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:44 AM - 30.09.04
Layers
Well it was a day. I spent more time over in the temporary records room in the east tower of the building where I work. Most of the afternoon as a matter of fact. It was actually quite pleasant since the only people I had to deal with were the young men moving all the company records over and the man delivering the boxes of material I was asked to deal with. Each one of them went out of their way to accommodate me or help where they could. They wouldn`t survive long in an office setting - too openly masculine. You know the protector role. The women would emasculate them and the men would be -well I can`t say about the men really because I still don`t understand how they think even after raising six sons of my own. One on one they are individuals but get them in a social or work setting and the whole pattern of behaviour is altered. The brother switched out identification cards again and I talked with him about that a bit. I think he`s aware it makes me uncomfortable but I don`t think he has the authority to change my security clearance. Although how I`m supposed ot do my job once he is finally transferred to the other team on Monday, I don`t know.

Talked off and on withone of the other contractors during the day. She is there to help with transition tasks as the takeover progresses. First wa a subtle questioning about the data in an area I`ve workd on extensively for the company. I was upfront with my thoughts but noted they most likely wouldn`tbe appreciated. She responded that we were entitiled to hold what ever opinions we choose. That is true - it is expressing them that can bring a rain of opprobrium down on you. Later she asked me how I could handle working in the conditions in the records center - the heat, lack of air circulation, the noise and the constant activity. It slipped out before my brain engaged, but I noted that I was only there because my supervisor asked me to go and that I really would rather be elsewhere. I did have enough sense not to elaborateon my own reasons so I`m sure she put it down to the physical discomforts. Those I can cope with but not with all the other challenges as well. She still seemed quite taken aback even with the little I did have to say. Hope it doesn`t come back to haunt me. I had to double up on some of my meds for the second day in a row and I still am having trouble keeping things down. Because my belongings are locked up in the cubby hole the brother has been using for his workstation and because he has several years of medical training I think he is aware of the dosage change and I think he can guess at some of the reasons. I really need some time off but I can`t afford to take it. Elections Canada sent a global e-mail to Returning Officers yesterday noting that they would begin paying out the balance of our pay but only if they decide we merit it. Umm well according to the tariff unless we failed to complete very specific tasks during the election period and the ten days following then they must pay us that money. Other than not being able to answer some questions they sent by email when our computers kept crashing I completed all those tasks on time. There should be no argument but I`m not holding my breath. Remember I still am waiting to hear if my staff get their pay tomorrow - three months and four days after the election.

Anyway the interesting part of the day came at the very end. When I returned to the main office at about 15 minutes before my usual quit time, I did as I usually do and asked the brother if there was anything else I could help with given that our jobs are interdependent to such a large degree. He said yes - he needed to determine where some property files might be - he`d searched all over and couldn`t locate them anywhere. They must be included or accounted for in the disposition or there is a risk the company will be in breach of the agreement they have entered to take over the other company.

I looked at the properties and realized that they were ones we had been working on in the first assignment for this company. He noted that the only place he couldn`t find all the pertinent records to were the ones for off-site storage. Those original records had been prepared by us and there were several spreadsheets created documenting the 200+ properties that we had found that the company didn`t know it owned as well as ones containing the manifests for shipping off site, the spreadsheet for the missing or unaccounted for property records and for the records that had serious legal or regulatory problems that should be addressed immediately to ensure due diligence requirements were met. The other reason we had been brought in was because the company knew it couldn`t account for at least 20% of it data. Or every fifth page in a book if you will. Our job was to figure out what was there so that then what was missing could be determined. We also documented that fairly thoroughly.

It took me about half an hour to locate everything. While I was showing the brother what each one contained and how the data was configured, the co-ordinator came buzzing in to my cubby hole. "What are you doing, what have you found?" She had been on her way out the door when the brother first asked me to look for the data but she stayed until she heard me explaining the spreadsheets to him. She seemed pretty jumpy, but maybe I was just being a bag about it. I was pretty tired of the whole shebang by then. I`m glad the brother is looking in to it and I`m glad that the work we did under great pressure not to will finally shed some light on what has been done with the missing material.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats