Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:26 AM - 20.09.04
Lucidity
I was having lucid nightmares when I slept yesterday, dear diary. I was dreaming about th etime of the first contract at the company I`m assigned to now. The me in the dream kept turning, as if on stage, with asides and directions to me - "are you paying attention? Write this down." The problem was another part of the mindbody desperately needed the extra dreamtime - "to knit up that raveled sleeve of care" and would not allow the other me to move back to this reality to write down what I needed to remember for later use according to the sleeping me.

In that contract my co-worker and I were maintaing three spreadsheets to document what we were finding as we worked and then how we were dealing with each anomaly as opposed to the information the company had listed as what they had or were aware of owning. There were significant discrepancies and as we worked the documentation we kept began to show patterns of manipulation of material pointing toother issues to be dealt with as well. WE found hundreds of undocumented properties as well as properties that were mislabelled putting their protection as assets at risk. Uh huh. Almost exactly two years ago someone began actively tampering with those spreadsheets - especially the shipping manifest so that it did not accurately reflect what was being shipped offsite. Entries were either deleted or changed to imply other sites or properties that the company would not have owned or that did not exist.

To protect our work we finally chose to password those spreadsheets in another language. The dream was reminding about the existence of those electronic records and the correct password for each - it seemed quite urgent that I have that information. At that point between the "Queen of Mean" and the liaison they managed to purge most of the spreadsheets from the company`s server, making it impossible to protect the information we had collected that was left. Uh huh.

About an hour into today`s work the brother arrived and asked me toreceive into work 17 boxes of the material that my co-worker and I had prepared two years ago. Only two of the shipping manifests we had produced the day we packed them and taped to the lids were still intact. The rest had been ripped off with only the tape and the corners left behind. In those two instances where the document was intact the contents of the boxes and the shipping manifest were completely different. For the other boxes the directions were to just document each record before receiving them back in to the on-site collection. So now we know what the dreams were trying to help with. Some of the records still had my handwritten notes that noted which box they had been designated to reside in -none of those records were in their correct box either. When we showed that tothe liaison she remarked that agent of potential buyers haad been allowed to go through the boxes and they were responsible for the lack of continuity. Now I`ve worked in a professional data room service and the one thing that agents must do is sign for and check out the records they are assessing. They are then returned to the exact location they were originally removed from - no messing around. No credible company allows such a free for all with such valuable company assets and potential buyers are never left unsupervised.

While I was carrying out my task for the day - no lunch or breaks either - the brother was trying to create a spreadsheet that documented the boxes packed up solo on the weekend by the co-ordinator for another sale of properties. She was livid and kept flying off the handle as he asked to check the contents of some of the boxes and asked her why she had listings that were non-existant or incorrect written down. She was really rude and spoke tohim as though he was stupid. Her comment was that they didn`t have time to worry about being accurate and that the people on the other end of the shipment would be smart enough to figure out what was going on. Assuredly. When the brother cited the legal responsibilities and penalties for not doing the inventory correctly she yelled again and tried to tape the boxes shut so he couldn`t have access to them at all. He was obviously feeling just a bit frustrated.

At 4 pm I got a call from the data management firm - lucky I was close enough to my cell phone to catchthe callsince it doesn`t have working voicemail. My paycheque was finally ready but Iwould have to come pick it up in person. Well let`s see - I`ve had direct deposit with the company for three years now - can`t be done. If I wanted tobe paid today, in addition to everything else, I would have to traveltothe other end of downtown within the half hour to pick it up so I could do my own deposit. Great, even in non-rush hour 20 minutes of travel is often necessary to get there. The brother came into my workstation as I was talking and seemed to want me to stay later. I explained the situation and he told me to go get my pay - six days overdue by the evening. He said he understood broke all too well and was sympathetic about it too. I would have stayed but something really isn`t sitting right with the holdup of the cheque so I guess the no lunch break thing was a blessing in disguise. I had an extra hour of time to draw from. Caught the train just going by as I made the station a block away. Walked in to the office with 10 minutes to spare. The receptionist was nice and just handed the envelope to me. Left and deposited saidcheque in the bank in my community right away and soends another eventful day, dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats