Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:55 p.m. - 2004-08-09
Bizarre
Well I don't feel much better physically but psychologically I'm ok - well alright, as good as I get anyway. I get paid only for the hours I'm actually in the workplace, so unless I'm queasy again tomorrow morning I'll be going in to work. Bleagggh.

Why better psychologically? Well I had some sleep time. I emailed another reference for someone who worked for me. The request really bothered me though. It was from a temp agency that appears to specialize in "power over" tactics. They sent a template asking for all the "dirt" on the person in question. I ignored the template, said what I felt was appropriate in this instance, cited the legislation they were violating in operating the way they were and sent a copy of same to the applicant in question. We'll see what happens next. I don't like cheapshot artists who insist on undermining other people's ability to get work by diminishing their abilities - especially behind their backs so that they can't defend themselves.

I wrote thank you notes to a variety of people who have been nice to me lately - counting my blessings as it were. I received a new timesheet template for this assignment - they're pre-programmed with all the employer data. When I opened it to check it, I found that one of the employers I really like had been added in addition to the current one - a hint of a future assignment or at least a split between the two places? One can only hope. I spent time with my youngest and the cats. I enjoy that more than just about anything else and who knows, maybe it will stop the cats from spraying and encourage my youngest to keep his room clean. Ok Not, but I can dream can't I.

In the news lately things of note. The Perseid meteor showers start after dark on August 11 - wish upon a star. Two very different festivals that are very strange - the Louie Louie festival - that's right everyone brings their guitar and they play ...... you got it Louie and the testicles festival - sort of the finale to the running of the bulls and the BS if you know what I mean Testy Adults only, so I didn't look at the photo section.

This was in the Trivia Today newsletter I receive:

"Men reach the peak of their sexual powers in their late teens or early twenties, and then begin to slowly decline. Women, however, do not reach their sexual peak until their late twenties or early thirties, and then remain at this level through their late fifties or early sixties."

Um sure. Who are these researchers talking to. No wonder guys get discouraged. I certainly didn't notice that decline in my ex - rather the opposite. That was the only thing that kept him around the family for as long as he was, and it's the only thing that made me tolerate him for as long as I did(one of the very few compliments he'll ever get from me). Although, come to think of it, I think I should have got a vibrator like Ann Landers advised one of her clients to do - Brahmacarya is even better though. And no wonder we gals feel frustrated all the time. The battle of the sexes doesn't need any more fuel for the flames you know.

This sounds familiar bully_for_you and this was enlightening too Lenny. This just sounded like fun Jokers_Wild.

Anyway time to go catch the weather forecast for tomorrow. Frost in the areas just north of here tonight it seems. The cats were shivering tonight even in their fur coats. I even turned on the furnace for the first time in several months. Next thing you know I'm going to have to start buying pantyhose again. Bleagh.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats