Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:51 p.m. - 2004-08-04
Totems
Wave after wave of sheet lightning has filled and rolled across the sky since suppertime. The cats are restless. I love it. Cools everything down after all. Someone next door sitting outside savoring the storm - classic country music played as background - Patsy Cline if I'm not mistaken. Maybe they were at the Country Jamboree last weekend, Leanne Rimes sang some of her material. Extraordinary voices, both women.

A lot of music and theme concerts for the next while. I didn't even know Cher was in Calgary until I saw the review on the front page of the paper. I guess there is a good reason to read the newspapers once in a while. I still haven't got to the point where I do on a regular basis - too depressing by far. However, blues and bluegrass festivals, Carifest, Afrikadey, Celtic games (of course bagpipes are music). Walked through Prince's Island park yesterday and caught a bit of the Shakespeare in the Park performance - Comedy of Errors maybe. Don Henley soon. George Carlin in September - my youngest angling to go to that. We'll see how the employment scene is first. Sting and Annie Lennox in October.

Today was a better day at work. I think yesterday that I felt so unsafe based on last assignments'experiences, that being in the same workplace as before was just too much to handle. The stress from the election has not dissipated yet either and having to move from a workplace that I loved and where I was openly welcomed to one where I am openly resented is very difficult too. I decided just to carry on with the tasks and send out resumes to "dream job" opportunities. Try to trust that my supervisor will be available if I need help this time. Some of the scientists that I like there have come by and said hi - that makes me feel better. anyway, we'll see.

Went for a power walk at lunch. My youngest and I are reading the Pendragon cycle by Stephen Lawhead right now. Our male cat obviously resented the loss of attention to his royal and regal self, so he chewed through the middle section of the volume we are working with - or maybe he was just hungry. Hope he got indigestion, bad boy. Decided the second hand bookstore at the other end of downtown was my best bet for finding a replacement copy. Didn't find one but I did get a copy of Lynn Andrew's Crystal Woman (I was looking for Woman of Wyrrd but maybe next time) and Jack Kerouac's "Dharma Bums". That's a train book for sure. Started reading it on the way home tonight, very instructive and entertaining at the same time. The person reading over my shoulder thought so too.

On the journey to the sotre I met one of the scientists I really enjoyed working with about five contracts ago. One of the best things about that contract was that he and one of the other scientists would give me lessons in their specialties at least once a week if not more as part of my worktime. You can tell an expert by their ability to explain their knowledge to any one who asks. Both men were and are, although I do admit I really had to work hard to follow the one gentleman - organic chemistry classes were last taken decades ago and his lessons were somewhere at a post-graduate level of skill - uh huh. Interesting synchronicity was that the company I just left was one of their company's partners and I had seen his name a lot on documents. The woman who is my reconstituted walking partner worked at that company too. Hmmmm. Anyway an hour in the sunshine,with a foray into a favorite book place was a great way to spend a lunch hour. Came home after work and had a dream filled napped until the thunder woke me. Thunder beings clear the air - part of my totems I think.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats