Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:04 p.m. - 2004-08-02
Mercutio
"Why is a Raven like a Writing Desk?" from Alice in Wonderland. Don't know - but it's something about "quills" I think. I awoke from a dream abour ravens this morning. In aboriginal mythology ravens represent magic and healing energy. "Quoth the Raven - Nevermore."

The woman who borrowed my belly dance tapes for her daughters phys ed. program finally returned them. I had to ask several times for them. I know they were enjoying them, but their family income is much bigger than mine - they can afford to buy their own. In fact they can even write the cost off as an education expense on their taxes. I shouldn't feel guilty about wanting them back right? Popped one in the VCR this morning so I could work with it - the one with the sensuous workout; I'll save the cardio for later. Most of the dance was based on two key movements - the camel and Maia circles. Not too difficult catch on to and it was fun to go back to my childhood for that hour.

"What?",you say. Well you see when I was growing up in the '60's I loved watching the teens dancing. Go-go dancing don't you know. One of the moves was the "dirty dog" - "let your backbone slip" which is the camel in North American. The shimmy translates the same in Eastern or Western and then there was "swim" - maia to y'all. A couple of hours of that on the dance floor and no wonder there was "the summer of love" or two or three. Now we have hip hop "and the beat goes on" as the off-spring of those parents unconsciously imitate them. I danced right along way back then, but as a child it was just fun to pretend I was as cool as those teens.

Mercury retrograde is evident everywhere. Our cable went really strange today. Not usually a problem, but I wanted to watch "Ghost" - for about the hundredth time. I love the way Whoopi Goldberg acts out the part of Oda Mae Brown, Unchained Melody is one of my favorite songs and Patrick Swayze is easy to watch. Anyway part of the channels we pay to get weren't being received at all and the ones we were getting past the local channels were in French and carried different programs than those listed in the TV Guide. That included Bravo, which was the channel I wanted to watch. Instead of Ghost there was a very lively debate going on between Canadian and American functionaries about the merits of the North American Free Trade Agreemnent - NAFTA to you - instead. Now I firmly believe that NAFTA was designed to enhance company profits at the expense of the average worker - watching the smarmy rationalizations being spewed out by the OWGs who did the old "we did it for your own good" thing - was not about to contribute to the relaxing I had intended to do. Called the cable company. Sat on hold waiting. Twice, about five minutes after sitting on hold, the line cut out - went dead. Finally the third time round I got through and the service rep said, "yes that happens sometimes, No it doesn't affect all your neighbours, and there are no appointments for a service call available until the coming Saturday - it will be an "open call" so you will have to be home from 8 am to 9 pm to wait for the repairman to arrive. No it can't be anyone under the age of 18 to let them in - you must be there yourself." Peachy.

Other Mercury things? We thought we'd lost two of the kittens - Spook and Gandalf - thought they'd flown the coop through the balcony door when number four son left it open about as wide as said kittens. Not so, it turned out they emerged from wherever they had been snoozing several hours later, but panic set in for a while. My kettle broke - no tea - and somehow my coffee pot broke too. Drink other fluids? Surely you jest. Tried calling a couple of my siblings but no one was home. Nothing left for me to do but paperwork for both jobs. Timesheet complete and report for my downtown job - at least it got sent by e-mail ok - done and worked on financial stuff for the election again. Yup going over old territory again.

In the news? Some interesting stuff. Old times revisited in our Atlantic Province of Nova Scotia. The Acadian family reunion. All the French people who were exiled from Canada by the Britons are called Acadians. Some managed to return while others went on the become Cajuns. Oh yeah. Reunion and bears plus pipelines don't mix Honey. More on ethics and bullying in the workplace Prison. I guess I shouldn't complain about my reassignment tomorrow to the place where there was so much bullying going on before when I don't have to worry, like this woman does. In her case the inmates she guards have been recruited to intimidate her by the guards (co-workers) she has been bullied by. It's all relative - right? Guess I should go and pack up my desk in a bag and be thankful I'm working. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats