Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 p.m. - 2004-07-31
Reflections
Sons three and five played the ribbon game with the kittens for a couple of hours last night. It was hard to tell who was having the most fun. Guess it really doesn't matter. By the time they left more of the babies had names. I've avoided doing that because if I name them then I don't know if I'll be able to detach enough to give them to adoptive homes. Silly huh?

Any way,in addition to Spook, George II, and Fluffy (Named by number two son's partner) there is Salem - pure black short hair with green eyes - Starface - brown and gold streaks with a rayed starburst that takes up most of her face - and Gandalf the Grey - pure grey luminous coat that almost has a purple sheen to it, odd I thought I was the only one who could see auras. Two more to name one little spitfire very similar to Starface and one that is the spitting image of his Dad when he was small, a grey tabby with a salmon belly - the lover in the group. Hmmmm.

My youngest went out fishing with his Dad this morning. One fish catch and release today. I wish that would happen more often. Once maybe twice a year tops and any other contact is almost always intiated by my youngest - he takes two hours on the bus to go to his Dad's place on the off chance he'll spend some time with him. Frustrating, he deserves much better.

Not much to say about the day either. Feasted on leftover fruit mostly - cherries, plums and peaches - with cheese and a bit of pasta salad for ballast. Spent a fair amount of time cleaning the house, washed floors and bathrooms, eight or so loads of laundry. Finally started reading the newspapers and the e-zines again, even did the crossword in the paper. Some really interesting astronomy stories was the highlight of the afternoon. This story on the latest theories about the nature of Dark Energy Darkness, This one on solar flares, the Northern Lights and Blue Moon - not the scene in "Grease"-Moons, a transcript of Stephen Hawkings latest comments on Black Holes Time and this request for help by NASA to find and catalogue unique geological features contained in the Mars photos taken a while ago Geology. Spaced out day.

Saw a bit of a newsmagazine program that was profiling one of the recruitment agencies that called me last January about placing me in a job. I was surprised to see the recruiter who dealt with me interviewed, but not surprised at the information. The other recruiting firm I've dealt with just checks in from time to time to see if I'm available for an assignment and offers me the opportunity to attend workshops where I can increase my knowledge of different skill sets. The one that was profiled in the expose tonight says it will find you a high paying job for a fee - about $5000. When I left that interview I thought about it and decided I'd be better off to invest that money in courses that interest me - that is if I had the money to begin with. The fellow who interviewed me was saying in the interview he did for the program that he was fired for offering someone money back if they didn't get a job. However during the time he spent with me he certainly tried all the tricks that were detailed in the story to sign me up. Huge gobs of flattery too that really left me cold. I mentioned earlier, dear diary that it was his son I worked with in the contract I was at up until the end of this week. Never felt good about that fact. Just ambivalent about it now having gone back to the posts in your pages last year. That was kind of a crummy year all together wasn't it. Sometimes one doesn't realize how much things have improved until one looks back like that. Now I just feel tired.

Anyway time to go do another load of clothes and talk with my youngest. Time for a nap too I think. Tomorrow back to the paperwork for both jobs but the break of one day was nice.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats