Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:17 p.m. - 2004-07-16
Weather Warnings
Tornado warnings for our city last night and tonight. The sky was a turgid green in the south last night, but one look at the cats told me there likely wasn't too much to worry about. You see they were all draped in attitudes of languid torpor all over the living room furninture. Yes the kittens too. Earlier on the kittens had been playing - looked like a patch of over grown grasshoppers and it was tremendously entertaining to watch. They sswarmed their Dad who reacted with bewilderment. What was he to do with them?

My number two son and his partner had provided me with a bottle of plum wine sometime during the election. I promised myself I would savour a glass once the close down of the office was achieved. Lease ended yesterday. Yes. One of the kittens is a long-haired coal black baby. Green oval eyes and sharp pointed ears. I call that one "Spook". Spook was watching me drink my wine. Sensing I was really enjoying the moment the baby climbed up on my shoulder and proceeded to delicately lick my lips in order to get a taste of the nectar. Uh yeah.

Today at the office it was very quiet again. My co-worker was back and said his allergies had flared up taking him out of commission for yesterday. The city has been boasting about it's aggressive campaign to spray the heck out of the community so that people don't get West Nile virus. Fine, but do they have to take out some of the humans too? My supervisor had said he was going to drop in to see us today, so we just carried on while waiting for him to arrive. He never did make it in.

It was disappointing because he always has something positive to contribute to our work, but given his comments yesterday maybe there was too much else on his plate. I felt even guiltier about raising my own concerns about the next assignment by the end of the day. During the election, I was working a minimum of 12 and up to 18 hours a day, but often heard nothing but complaints about what I hadn't been able to do from certain people on a daily basis. I don't want to do that to my supervisor, given all the times he's gone to bat for me. I just don't see how I'm going to deal with the next assignment if the conditions haven't changed at all from this last go-round. The only reason I could force myself to go in to work each day the last month I was there was by reminding myself I only had a few days left to go. This time my supervisor is talking about a six month stretch. I need the money of course, but when is that not enough of a reason to take a job. Don't know.

I wondered about tornados when I was downtown in the afternoon. I can't explain it except to say that it felt as though the whole atmosphere was vibrating. When I put my headphones on it felt like my whole body was taken over and became the music. It felt really cool but weird as well. The hair on the back of my neck was standing up on end too. Sure enough when I got home a weather warning had been issued. This time I think it might have been more serious but nothing so far has happened. We'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats