Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:13 a.m. - 2004-05-29
A Shoulder
The one thing that got me through the day yesterday, dear diary, was the telephone call that came through in the early afternoon. There were about four people in my office all wanting different things. Three conversations going on at once, with cross talk to boot.

I couldn't even hear what was being said at first, but I had caught a glimpse of the number calling. It finally sunk in that it was my supervisor from my downtown work. I excused myself from the others and went into the next office. The noise level in the hall was so high I had to shut that door too. My supervisor was responding to my e-mail from Sunday about how he wanted to deal with the time away from the contract I'm assigned to at this point - the one I enjoy so much. He liked the options I had offered in terms of continuing to provide service. Our liaison arrives back from Europe this weekend, so he said he would talk with her about it on Monday and get back to me as soon as he could.

He also asked if I was available to go back to one of the other contracts after we are done this one. They've asked specifically for me and that is a compliment. It will be my third time there and it is in the same building. There is no cross over in the content of the records in the two companies so no conflict arises from that.

After that we just chatted a bit about our day to day routine. The company we work for has done several takeovers and mergers in the past two years and part of his job is to assist and oversee the realignment of the staff. He often encounters a lot of hostility and resistance and one can't really blame staff for that. That degree of change and uncertainty can be pretty frightening. He allowed that he was finding it pretty challenging right now and that some changes were going to have to be implemented for things to work out. I told him how I was feeling - very overwhelmed at that particular moment - but not the details. He carries enough responsibility without having to hear about mine but it was helpful to have someone listen who understood intuitively what I was going through. That conversation is what got me through the rest of the day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats