Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:47 p.m. - 2004-05-22
Pregnant Pause
Well election fever is torqued up to a fever pitch now. It is really the last weekend availble for a call before the actual voting day slides into the summer holidays. Summer elections are notorious for overturning incumbent governments. The voters who actually show up to the polls are usually pretty grumpy about the ruling party. This morning all the media were carrying stories that stated that the call was being reconsidered due to terrible poll returns in one of the two prvinces where it is critical the governing party do well. Later in the day all the press were declaing not only the fact that the call would be tomorrow but even stating the time. Our email from Elections Canada was completely non-committal. "Right now we are doing this if things change then we will do that." In past elections we were always given a heads up before a call but then again that was a different leader. Each PM makes their own rules I guess. At least one way or another we will have some idea of how to plan the next few months by this time tomorrow.

I went and picked up groceries, cleaned house, did laundry. Worked on the contract that is paying my bills a bit. That is the one thing that is really bothering me right now. I love this job and I don't want to have to back away from it. My supervisor and I discussed it before he assigned me to the project nad he understood that the election would call me away for the duration - so that isn't the problem. The problem is I feel as though I might have finally found a place where I actually fit and am valued for it. Do I really want to lose the chance to see that through? Elections Canada still hasn't paid me for all my time and work - am I obligated to allow them to sabotage my life even more. Don't know.

I had intended to get all the paperwork for the downtown contract finished today just to be certain it's complete, but one of my sisters called and asked if she could come by for a few hours for a visit. She sounded a bit tentative as though she thought she woudln't be welcome. I really have to work hard to find ways to ensure I spend time with family, but I don't think I am that forbidding a person. Anyway I said that was fine and decided I could finish up the rest of the work tomorrow morning. Election call or not that gets done before I do anything else. Just before she arrived our warrior princess cat Ficus came bolting upstairs looking terrified. Did a double take and realized that the head of a baby was the problem - she was giving birth. The look on her face was a definite "get this thing out of me, now!" I remember the feeling well. Most cats are very secretive and hide when giving birth, but this one wanted no part of being alone - she wanted our help and comfort and got both. Only one baby for her - that was the good thing. So now there are two pure black and two pure gold kittens and one that looks like it might be a smoky grey. They are so cute. The sisters cuddle up in a circle and take turns with the nursing and cuddling of their babies. They just lie there now purring constantly to keep those kittens feeling welcomed and wanted.

We had just got the newest addition, cleaned up and attached to his mom when my sister arrived. We chatted about the things that had happened at her father-in-law's funeral a few weeks back. One of those where some family member felt all their dirty laundry should be aired during the funeral - grudges nursed for decades unleashed with the grief. It's difficult to respond to stories like that because I don't know any of the people involved. What is "grief talking" and what is "kicking someone when they are down" is difficult to discern. I just suggested no response or non-engagement might be the smartest move. If someone is looking for a fight it is the only response that they can't use to justify their aggression. Not my decision though thank goodness. We talked about kids, family and movies, then I read her cards. Uh huh. Now I think, I'd better get some rest. One way or another tomorrow might be a bit of a challenge. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats