Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:45 p.m. - 2004-05-21
Plan B
We have a long weekend coming up here in Canada. Victoria Day to celebrate the birth of a Queen originally, but now a celebration of the beginning of summer. Traditionally it is the first long weekend where everyone goes camping. Um, well except for times like these where the forecast is for heavy snow and our city is gearing up for the ultimate in winter sports championships - the Stanley Cup. It appeared by the volume of traffic and the crowding on the train going home that the camping thing has gone by the wayside for this summer season.

My plans for the weekend. I'm actually looking forward to cleaning the house. Why? Because it is the one area of my life that is normal right now - normal is good. The press has the public whipped up into a frenzy of expectation of an election call this weekend, yet every one of their own polls shows a certainty of a minority government. Now if the entire purpose of allowing an election to be called at the leisure of our Prime Minister is to offer an electoral advantage, why on earth would they choose to call one now at a time that would ensure a short lived and likely tempestuous regime, when they have the option of waiting up to a year and a half for better support for their continuance in office.

I spent the day juggling between my two jobs - trying to ensure due diligence where the Federal contract was concerned without detracting from the one that I am actually enjoying and which also pays my bills. That's my priority right now - the good contract. Meant I stayed late again at work and will spend some time on the weekend getting all our stats and reports in order. Don't mind that part at all. It's about the only thing I can do to help ease my supervisor's workload. I only have this project to worry about, while he has several equally challenging ones.

Not only that I don't mind investing extra effort into a company like this one where I am so well treated as a worker. I am still finding that there is a strain in the way a lot of the females respond to me - I've introduced myself to several - you know when getting on the elevator together, that kind of thing. It just seems polite from my point of view, but they almost seem afraid to tell me who they are let alone what area of expertise they have. That has become even more pronounced since my liaison has left for the head office in Europe. Her absence is really noticeable. I can't interpret the signs.

Anyway the reason I stayed late was because I needed to be on the phone a bit to ensure I had an office available should the press actually be correct about the election call. The one real estate agent I called yesterday over the noon hour was back to me with four options by mid-morning. Further negotiation between him and the landlords over the conditions Elections Canada insists be fulfilled meant that none of the original four choices worked out but a better deal came available by 4 pm. He noted in the first call in the morning that I sounded a bit stressed. I admitted to the migraine and he was quite solicitous. I think he expected hysterics having worked with several other Returning Officers, but I don't do those. They demand way more energy than I've got and they also often make things worse. So why would I engage in self abuse when circumstances already are bad enough? So in about half an hour's worth of calls spread out through the day my biggest headache was resolved. Maybe this fellow should run for Prime Minister. No muss, no fuss and yet the job gets done well. My kind of leader.

My Dad came downtown and took me to the best burger joint in the city for lunch - Peter's Drive In that is. I think Mr Peters was originally a cook for the oil and gas crews, then switched over to we city folk. He always insists on a high quality, value for one's money meal. Service is quick, efficient and cheerful always. The young woman serving us today wished us a hearty Merry Christmas as snowflakes drifted down while we picked up our order at the drive through. I guess she might have been making reference to the rum and butter milkshakes we opted for too. Comfort food supreme. Mr Peters pays his staff very well and treats them with respect. He has done so well with his businees that he really hasn't needed to work for a long time - prefers to baby his roses instead. Good corporate role model.

I gave my Dad the arthritis pain patches I'd picked up a while back. He and some of his friends swear by them in terms of increased mobility and they seem to gain more converts on a regular basis. I think I now supply people in several provinces with this traditional Chinese medicine. It's nice to know just popping into a herbal shop once in while can have such a positive effect in so many people's day to day lives isn't it?

Over lunch we talked mostly about my work and family history, since they are so closely intertwined. I'm still on about the book of family tales I'd like to put together for my guys. Dad was asking about the belly dance workouts again and that seems to be a topic of his choice for the past few visits. I know I look a lot slimmer, but I think that is just from tightening up the muscle left after the Atkins weight loss. I know when I first opted for classes it seemed as though most of my family were either appalled or of the opinion I was crazy. It's interesting that now it is viewed as a respectable and positive choice. Wonder why the shift in perception all of a sudden.

Darn, I guess I'm going to have to find something else to rattle their chains with. Let's see. Maybe hitchhiking around the world or joining a nunnery - Buddhist maybe. Maybe a martial arts granny is a good choice. Learning to sing opera or to play the saxophone? I could finally learn to drive a car - that might keep every one on edge and off the road. What do you think dear diary?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats