Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:05 a.m. - 2004-05-21
Tomorrow
I have a vicious migraine today. Self inflicted rather than the weather kind though.

Remember in my post yesterday I noted that my commute home was "interesting"? As in, I know better than to discuss some things, so why did I take the bait? You see, one of the people I was working with a year ago tapped me on the shoulder about mid-way home. How are things and that kind of chit chat. A comment about one of the other contracts from last year still being at the job-site. I already knew that, because she told me she had been taken on full time a few weeks before I left. That was the contract where even my supervisor was urging me to leave because of the work conditions. I actually felt sorry that the other contract felt she had to take the job. However, the delivery of that information by the person on the train implied that I should feel as though I had been rejected in her favour. That had never been an issue, because I had a hard time lasting as long as I did there.

Anyway, he then got into a froth about having seen that Passion of Christ movie and how it had inspired him to get involved in the annual passion play that is staged in Drumheller (World Heritage site with respect to dinosaur remains before they turn into oil). Fair game - I think that that event is a well staged cultural and faith based activity. However, I did feel constrained to say - being somewhat nettled by the cattiness earlier into a lack of caution - that I would never go see the movie, because the descriptions of it seemed to indicate it was emotionally exploitive and socially inflammatory. I vote with my feet and my dollars when it comes to behaviour like that. His response was that the violence and glorification of the torture was justified if "it brought people to the faith". Oh yes, the same rationale used for centuries to justify, oh, the Crusades, the Inquisition, the burnings and abuse of innocents because they didn't belong to exactly the same brand of faith as the abusers. I commented that if he wanted torture, he could read Amnesty International's Yearly or Monthly reports to the United Nations with respect to numerous contemporary countries engaging in similar practices - some of which make the Romans look like boy scouts. His response was that that kind of abuse didn't matter because "those people (victims of torture) were just human beings, while the movie dealt with the "Son of God"". Ummm sure, I guess he hasn't got to that passage in the Bible where Jesus says that "Whatsoever you do to the least of these, my brothers, you do it also to me". One of the boys has my Bible right now, so I don't want to disrupt their research to find a quote - besides it's getting very late dear diary and I'm certain you know that part by heart anyway. I suggested to him that the torture of someone was not the essence of why one should commit to follow their teaching about the divine. If that were the case, then there are literally hundreds of thousands of people of all walks of faith who have been tortured in contemporary times that would be able to claim the same authority. At about that point he was basically running for the door, obviously very put out with me. Bad girl. You don't reach many people when you make them that angry or afraid.

Anyway, between the meetings at work and the one on the train, I arrived home intact physically if not emotionally. I did the usual routines - work, parenting and house responsibilities - then decided I needed a nap before I could finish everything else that needed doing off. Not to be. My youngest shook me awake just after I slipped into dreams. One of kittens was in the family way - she was in number four son's closet acting strange, as were a couple of her sisters. Oi. Yes - we now have four additional babies. They're beautiful, but what to do with them. I couldn't afford to neuter the brother, because Elections Canada hadn't and still hasn't paid me for all the work I've submitted and that they have incorporated into their workplans. When one is having trouble buying groceries and paying the critical bills like the mortgage - the pet care has to be minimized to just basic needs too. Frustrating. I love the babies though.

The Flames hockey team were just winning the conference final as Badger was birthing the last kitten. Chaos of a joyous nature erupted down the street and went on for a couple of hours, but at the same time we heard a terrible crash coming from the major freeway intersection nearby. An hour later a news story said a 20 year old male from the community had died on impact in the accident. I knew it wasn't one of my guys, but it is very likely that it will be the son of someone I know. Made me feel sick to my stomach as I finally climbed into bed an hour later.

This morning cold rain drizzling down, no big deal really. But then I got to work and found that my discman wasn't working and there wasn't any coffee available. The rest of the staff were in post hockey lag mode - no big deal either. I don't mind taking a turn on regular basis with coffee station duty. It's just part of the work culture, but I hadn't been initiated into the "recipes" of this particular office. Quality of coffee is a critical workplace issue, don't you know. One of my co-workers buzzed in and told me the regular brew was one and one quarter bags, while the "high test" coffee required three. No wonder it has such a buzz to it - the amount barely fit into the filter.

Got those two essentials on the go, then called my Dad's store. I wanted to ask number three son if he could diagnose and treat my discman over the phone. My Dad said he hadn't been into work for the past couple of days, because he had pulled a groin muscle or two. Ouch. We chatted for a couple of minutes and then my Dad allowed that his neighbour who had been so ill had died last night. Ouch again. We made arrangements to meet tomorrow and then number three son arrived just as I was trying to sign off. He told me to get some rubbing alcohol and q-tips so I could clean the beastie's "eye". No pharmacies open then, so that meant no music for the morning.

No big deal, but then I got a call from the landlord from who I wanted to rent my office for the election. The building won't be available for any of June due to construction issues. Major stress with all the rumours flying about an imminent election call. I know all the legalities work against it, but this is politics we are talking about. Nothing is certain. I waited until noon, since I won't take the company's time to do other contract work, then called a couple of people I know with connections in the real estate industry and begged for help. Boy did I need my discman by now. Music calms me down when nothing else can. I raced out to get the supplies I needed and took a 45 minute walk down by the river. That was very calming, but I came back to the office soaked to the skin and with my runners squelching uncomfortably. I'd been so distracted I'd forgotten to take my umbrella with me you see. The afternoon went better fortunately, but I had to take two calls about the office issue. Meant I stayed quite a bit later to make up the time for this contract. The commute home was uneventful, but there were several messages from Elections Canada and my supervisor combined that had to be addressed waiting for me when I walked in the door. Nothing negative, but just very time consuming. And that, dear diary is why I have a migraine. Tomorrow will be better. Right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats