Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:34 p.m. - 2004-05-13
Juggling
It was quite a bit warmer this morning, but even so both the bus and the train drivers had the heat cranked up. Especially when sitting pressed right up to the vents on the train, it meant it was hard to not doze off. That's what my body thinks it's supposed to do when it reaches a certain temperature.

Work was steady again today, but there is some concern about the amount of clean up we already have to go back and complete. The software keeps defaulting to a set date, yet we need to have the document date available. Also some of the key tables have been incomplete and updating them means returning to all the records to ensure any missing links are added.

My co-worker and I had a discussion too on how to reflect documents in the file. I'd spent quite a lot of time working one on one with a librarian on one of my earliest assignments when I started back into the paid workforce, so I still tend to record exactly what is on the document(s) itself. My co-worker wants to standardize certain things and apply them to every record without exception. There is no conformity to what was scanned in each electronic file, so there are a lot of records with multiple documents as well as instances where one record is split between several files. There is no rhyme or reason for that either, because some files have a single piece of paper in them while others have several hundred.

As a result, that will mean a lot of additional re-editing on top of what is already necessary. It also means that someone doing a search on a title name may not be able to locate it, unless they know the formulas that the records have been arbitrarily standardized to. When I raised those issues, my co-worker was quite firm that he wanted it done his way because "that's the way he always does it, it's fast and it works for him" and he stated "we'll see about that, I'll be going to talk to A about it". Shortcuts with records management usually mean long term problems, that's what keeps me in contracts. I prefer to do it correctly and thoroughly on the first pass.

Went to lunch with the friend I spent some time with last week. She seems a little more upbeat now. I'm glad - she had me very concerned. We went to the big mall with the gardens inside, grabbed the special at the Chinese take-out then just sat and people watched while we talked. That is entertainment in itself. Mostly we talked about her son and his adventures lately and the stuff that was going on with my co-worker.

I'm probably just a little bit more touchy because I'm still dealing with all the garbage going on around the elections work too. I had another short conversation with the City Census Office this morning, just to confirm there was nothing wrong with the connectivity on my fax line. "Well what are we supposed to tell people calling in?" Tell them to call Telus and complain - maybe they'll fix the problem faster that way. What else is there to do?

Anyway I'm tired dear diary and I need to have a fair amount of energy for this weekend - number four son's birthday on Sunday in addition to every thing else. Night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats