Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:07 p.m. - 2004-05-11
May I
On the bus this morning I had an earworm, but it was good. I had woken up to Sting singing "Fields of Glory" or at least that was the main refrain in the song. It struck a chord - pun intended - somehow. There is a chain coffee store in the lobby of the building I'm working in right now. This morning a little girl of about three was streaking toward it as I headed for my bank of elevators. I was having a hard time imagining what it was that would make that shop so appealing to her. The I saw the showcase full of pastries. Ah yes - the balanced breakfast. Obviously Mom had promised her a treat before heading up to the daycare.

Quiet productive day at work. There was a heavy sleet coming down and the fog rolled in and out at intervals. Truth be know all I wanted to do was go home, make some hot chocolate and curl up in bed with it for solace. I don't know why days like this make me feel tired and sleepy. To counter the mood I turned on the little halogen desk lamp and turned down the thermostat in my office. That perked me up considerably. I was listening to the King for a good part of the morning - dancing with him in my mind while I slogged away. Time went quickly as a result. In both cases, with the King and Sting, it is tempting to try and sing, "Too Much" but I was good and refrained. Sting is coming to Calgary in October with Annie Lennox - that should be a great show. I still love dancing to Desert Rose and I think that must have been the theme today. The other cd that got a lot of play was "Satya". All three have very strong belly dance rhythms and I was in the mood to dream about indulging in it even if I couldn't act on the impulse. I promised myself I would dance a bit when I got home, but the truth is that by the time I get through all the regular chores I'm usually too tired or it's too late.

My chiropractor was not happy with me at lunch. I haven't been to see him in a while because of the lung that keeps causing me trouble since it collapsed in February and because I really couldn't afford to pay him since Elections Canada hasn't paid me. I still haven't been able to clear off all my basic bills as is and that really bugs me. However, back pain really wears me down physically and then I start to get sick. Sometimes one just has to find a way to make space in the budget for one's health too, especially when I'm trying to carry two jobs again. Anyway the long period without his working on me has set me back a bit. He seemed to have guessed that the last week wasn't very comfortable. I left wondering if he had called my new contract to get them to change my chair. He's like that for other things - just quietly helps someone out where he can - so it's possible. Nice guy. He was however commenting about the degree of curve in my spine and not in a good way. That's ok though, it will get better the more he works on it.

On the way home from work a little guy with his Dad in tow got on the train stop past mine. "Oh I love the train" says he, "It always takes us somewhere fun". Dad smiled wanly. I think though that what the little guy was savouring was the time with his Dad regardless of the venue. He obviously felt that nothing could go wrong while his father was with him. Then on the bus watching a gang of children playing in the snow out the windows. Snowballs and snowmen. May in Calgary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats