Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:50 p.m. - 2004-05-09
Mother's Day
Yesterday was just very busy, dear diary, so I didn't get an opportunity to write. Trying to fit all the things I do into one day, that have been spread out over seven when I was working at home, is really tricky. Add in some extra time and work that I had to invest in more reports for both Elections Canada and my downtown job and it was just a bit overwhelming.

Today started off with a bang. When I opened my e-mail, I had three messages from friends I haven't seen in a long all just touching base and wanting to set up times to get together. Yes. I often don't feel the need for a lot of company, because my life was full to brimming for so many years between my sons, my family and my volunteer work and the friendships that arose from that. Sometimes being alone and settling into stillness is really a joyful thing. Lately though, with all the tension among the elections staff and issues arising, that time can turn into neurosis and worse. The work environment in this new assignment is great, but I still need some of my old friends to boot me back to reality and remind me what is really important.

My oldest son arrived with the grandbabies just after noon and they just left. The cats are so relieved. The babies are great, but the level of noise and activity is more than my sedate felines can cope with right now. Went and picked up groceries and more parcels from the post office, since my son offered to chauffeur me around. Lunch was barbequed chicken and carrots, while supper was homemade tacos, salad and chocolate ice cream. Numbers four and six sons played with the babies and kept them very happy with their day - funny how absorbing play doh is even for grown ups. Number two and three sons talked with me on the phone during that time. Number five son is a chef and is probably still cooking for other Mom's - I'll talk with him tomorrow.

Ezines - this blog report out of Iraq was riveting May05. The writer is leaving the country soon - it has come to the point where there is no benefit in her remaining or I think she would. This story in the New York Times seemed to follow up with more details about the policies that underpin the choices made recently Human_Rights. There is a pattern of long term decisions made here, not just random incidents. On Mothers Day it is hard to think of any parent raising their children to act this way, but there must be both Moms and Dads who didn't manage to get the message through before their child became an adult. Experiments conducted at Duke University in the '60's, through their psychology department, also demonstrated that few people will challenge an "authority figure's" instructions let alone disobey them even when they are illegal and/or unethical. That is a societal problem. Critical thinking skills should be valued and taught at home and in schools. Just to stop the inane marketing that convinces people to act against their own best interest financially or in terms of their health would be a blessing. As a society we also have to start rewarding people who stand up for ethical behaviour. Where are the whistleblowers from Enron for example? Hopefully in very good jobs that recognize and draw benefit from the integrity of those people. Why aren't they, for example, working as government ombudsmen who help others like themselves challenge corruption in corporate and public institutions. We would all be better off in the long run as a society. Anyway, time to go dear diary. I have to send in my first time sheet. Unlike Elections Canada my downtown job pays me on a regular basis without making me beg for months first.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats