Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:45 a.m. - 2004-05-07
Stream of Tasks
I got off the train one stop early this morning. I'm trying to ensure I don't lose any ground where the weight loss is concerned. I also seemed to have lost a lot of stamina since my lung collapsed, so the extra exercise should help a bit. I was planning to do the stairs up the escarpment this week, but the wet icy weather makes it a bit risky - besides there were all those errands to run too. If there's no election called on Sunday I'll start that phase of fitness work on Monday, slowly. Got to get ready to tough out the election when it is called you know.

There were problems with data today at work, but they were all related to problems in the technology rather than human origin. My liaison, A, spent a bit of time chatting with me about the company itself. She is heading off to Europe at the end of the month. This is the third trip in six years for her that the company has offered to ensure that her education is expanded within their corporation. Being in a company that actually acts like they like their employees is very strange, but I like it. Does that mean there are no internal problems? No - these are human beings with all that goes with that, but at least the potential for a peaceful resolution is there. In some companies that's the last thing they want. Makes one wonder what they are hiding doesn't it?

The woman who is upset because I don't socialize, was very cool to me today. I made a point of acknowledging her every time I saw her, which was almost every time I stepped outside my office door. Her office is on another leg of the building, so I don't understand why she is always at this part of the company. Then again, I don't know what all her duties are, so maybe there is a good reason for the constant presence. I don't know, but there isn't much that should be of interest to any one outside my door. I still don't understand what her problem is either, but I am trying to reduce the anger. Trouble usually comes looking for me - I don't want to give it any more opportunities than necessary.

Talked with my new co-worker for a while this morning. Just exploring our backgrounds a bit. Sometimes that's useful when dividing up tasks. This discussion was triggered because I had left a voicemail for our supervisor, A, just checking to see if he wanted the regular weekly reports and if so, in what format and configuration. I explained what I had done to D so he could have input as well. A called back toward the end of the day and asked if I'd mind continuing to do them, since I knew the drill. Yes but I'll ensure that D gets the draft copy too so that he has equal input. This is about all having the same information and being able to work as a real team rather than what most of the industry calls teamwork. I did tease A a bit about not talking with us more often. The first assignment I had with him three years ago, he was in constant touch and often showed up in the office, now neither is the norm. I know that the culture of the company has changed dramatically since the merger a couple of years ago and A's duties are different. Still I found that I felt more secure when we talked more. I understand it indicates a high level of trust and respect for what I do though so I guess that's good too. I miss the personal touch though. Back to that idea of companies actually liking and valuing their workers, I guess.

Dealt with several e-mails about election issues when I got home from work. One was a response to the letter of complaint sent to one of the other Returning Officers. I have an odd feeling about the person who wrote it. She feels quite scary but I don't know why. Each election we get some unbalanced people showing up in our offices and that can be quite disturbing. There is one fellow who believes he is actually one of the men we had for Prime Minister oh about 40 years ago. He is well known in the political community because he will call candidates and civil servants in order to issue commands as our leader. Harmless soul and a bit entertaining sometimes too - others though are neither. Sent some info to the local rep of Elections Canada too. Just what we need another layer of reporting and bureaucracy with none of the benefits of support included. One of the other Returning Officers said that she had learned that the local rep was being paid considerably more than us. If that translated into assistance when we needed it that would be fine but having someone else dumping evn more work into our laps isn't on as far as I'm concerned. Another Returning Officer also e-mailed Ottawa on our groups behalf asking why we had been sent yet another huge assignment but with no hours allocated and no mention of payment. What I read was that the expectation was that we would be pleased to do it now so would have no problem doing it for free. Whatever. There are two post notices that arrived today telling me there are two more parcels awaiting pick-up - more assignments? Msybe I'll wait until I hear from one of the other ROs about their contents and then decide if I want to receive them or not. This is just getting stupid.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats