Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:04 a.m. - 2004-05-04
Firsts
The day started out well. The commute to work was interesting - like seeing everything anew. The city is turning a lush green now that spring rain/snow has washed away the winter. I was able to get all my lunch time errands done before even starting work because the train trip was much faster than anticipated for a change. That was a good thing since my lunch hour was hijacked by other issues.

Met my supervisor and my new co-worker in the main foyer of one of the builiding where a lot of contract work has occurred - different office tower though. The company we are working for is not Canadian but the change and ambience there was wonderful. European in approach and style. First language isn't English although of course allowances are made for us natives. The website automatically translates from one to the other at need. Some of the keying will be a bit different because of some of the letters in names and places but I like learning new languages - Sagittarius rising don't you know. The spoken language is melodic and sonorous - I like it. My supervisor noted I would be too busy to learn anything else but we'll see; I've always found that I learn quickest by doing and it will be necessary at times during our assignment. The new co-worker seems pretty nice. A refugee from our West coast claiming he needs more sunshine. Noted but it comes with snow too, this week included.

I was not only given my own office nicely appointed with furnishings from the country of the company, but I have a window that looks out over Chinatown and over toward the river. I also have a key and directions to make sure I use it. Amen. The computer I'm working on is a bit slow but that just means I have built in time to review my work - right? The two staff we interact with directly both seem quite pleasant, but it is apparent that with a smaller staff they are very busy filling in in places. The work is pretty straight forward and it is an extension of a project I worked on in some ways of another assignment that began almost three years ago to the day. Cool. The company is an international player so maybe I'll learn some new things about some countries I haven't had the chance to work on before. That Sagittarius thing again.

Left late because we began late with the warning that the building locks down at a certain time. One can't get in or out after then - I hope they were joking. Stopped at the grocery store on the way home - how does the cupboard get so bare so fast? Arrived at my door to find my youngest had let one of his buddies into my elections workroom to do something on our personal computer. He wasn't old enough to understand the problems that caused last elections, so I had to ask his friend to leave while I tried to explain the issues around privacy and confidentiality to my son. Part of the problem is that he would never use the information that is in our home to cause harm so he doesn't have an easy time understanding why the interdiction on anyone but family being aware let alone having access to that material is. His friend might not either, but even an innocent discussion on the bus or at school or work could tip off someone who would aggressively try to gain access. Sigh. That Pluto transit across my ascendant seems to all be about establishing boundaries and maintaining some form of personal integrity and autonomy. I seem to keep being blind sided by people whose very active attitude is what is mine is mine and what is yours is mine. There seems to be a parade of people trying to take whatever they want at my or my families expense. That was the lunch hour issue I was referring to earlier. A call came in from Elections Canada. It was the number three person in the hierarchy. The question and the approach were odd but it appears that my frustration with not being paid at all let alone for the actual hours I have had to put in has finally registered. Considering it has been an issue for years I'm not certain what it finally was that got their attention. Wish I knew - I'd do it again. Oh well time to go read with my youngest - that settles things more than any other activity I do right now. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats