Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:39 p.m. - 2004-04-27
Mercury stationary
It was a beautiful summery morning today complete with azure blue skies, birds singing and blossoms bursting out on the trees. The city's signature Chinook Arch hung in the southwest - the source of the warm, velvety air. My Dad came by at about 7:30 - yes in the am. He had coffee and sat and read the paper, throwing out comments on articles trying to get a rise out of me as I finished getting ready to go. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention I had a doctor's appointment right? Just a refill on my prescription and a check of my lungs. The wait in his office was about 15 minutes - not bad. He looked a lot healthier himself this time round. I asked about methods to reduce the chance of a lung collapsing again if I have to fly in the near future. One of the other Returning Officers was told bby someone in Elections Canada that we might be required to return to Ottawa for more training if this election isn't called soon. I can't see that because of the expense, but one never knows.

Took my Dad out for a late breakfast of the omelet genre after that. We sat and chatted about family and politics. It was a nice break. My Dad just wants to get away for a while I think. He always feels better if he can just jump in the car and drive wherever the road goes for a few days. Might be a pretty expensive stress reliever with the current price of gas though. Today the average was $.80 per litre/$3.60 gallon with predictions of the price going up over $1 per litre within a month. No reason given and a further prediction of this being a five year phenomenon. Odd. Rationing? Why? Anything to do with the transport planes that flew over Calgary last night? Hope not.

The phone and fax machine had both been ringing steadily since I'd left home apparently. Number four son was just heading back to bed when I walked in the door, grumbling about the noise. His work day starts at about 4 pm so the early morning - 10:30 am that is - is not something he cares to see - especially right now when hockey fever means some very late nights. Not my problem. Besides if those calls had been from some of the sweet young things he likes or any of his buddies, there would have been no complaints at all.

I started checking the calls while I was booting up the computers to check e-mail - personal on the one and work on the other. Stripping down so I could throw on grubbies to do housework at the same time, I was. First e-mail I checked had me scrambling back into my "business casual" outfit. My supervisor had responded to my question about why the contract hadn't arrived yesterday. Someone forgot to make the arrangements, so he had arranged that it would arrive at my home at 11:00 am. Straightened the skirt I had and opened the front door again. There stood the very courier himself. The cats liked him so I took that as a positive omen, signed the thing and he took it for the return trip.

Three calls from Elections Canada in Ottawa so I called them back since no message had been left. It was lunch in the capital so no one knew anything. Fine. A couple of calls and several e-mails from staff - just more questions about the timing of the election. I'm getting so tired of being asked. The Prime Minister apparently told the press he was hanging fire until he met with the US President on Friday. I'm not sure that made me feel very good. What planned or known world events might effect the timing of a Candian election?

My assistant seems to be settling comfortably at home after his hospital scare. I think he had sent about 20 jokes. I don't get tired of those and I was relieved to see he's well enough to spend that amount of time at the keyboard.

Next call was from the recruiter that I talk with from time to time. When would I be available for them to place. If they'd called yesterday I could have said now! But I think I'd just as soon stick with my supervisor for now. After this election I think a permanent placement is going to have to be considered, but I think I'll think about that tomorrow.

By this time a bitter wind had blown in from the Northwest - topsoil from British Columbia, from the look of it, blackened the sky. It was so thick and the wind so strong, that it was causing accidents all over the city. I had one window facing west open and the whole area beneath it was covered with grit. The dust cloud passed, then a fresh cool rain poured down. On the news in the background the word "snow" and late evening were heard. We'll see. All the moisture is causing the city to turn a beautiful shade of spring green, as the trees and grass quicken, but gee whiz! We shut the cats in their nursery then opened all the doors and windows though. It makes the whole house smell and feel cleaner somehow. Sleep better you know. I guess I'll try tackling those reports tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats