Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:53 p.m. - 2004-04-25
Breather
Not a lot to repor today dear diary. I'm feeling better - actually kept food down for the first time in over a week last night. I should be fine by tomorrow.

Number one son, the grandbabies and his partner arrived late in the afternoon. She is going to work for me, so I got all her paperwork done, then gave her her "homework". She wants to be moved to several different areas, so she can get a sense of the whole process. That is helpful to me too. Every team is set up around achieving specific goals. Those routines can change rapidly as the election unfolds. Someone who can pitch in wherever an extra hand is needed is always a bonus. My granddaughter decided the cats might like to step out for some air while we were signing off on the last of the documents. It was difficult to explain to her that the cats were at risk of being hurt if they were let out among the big dogs the neighbours keep around. A mouthful is about all they would make, but the dogs would likely be more excited by the opportunity of a chase.

My youngest has decided to put the kittens on an exercise regime since a couple of them are getting a little tubby - especially Mr T. He's probably about 25 lb/11.2 kg. Looks like a small bobcat he does. Those kittens are very assertive too. They use their tails to "steer" their human to wherever they want to go - usually the kitchen. Try walking safely with two or three all determined to be the "leader" of the pack.

Had calls from a couple of staff today wanting different information. That comment in the paper the other day had a lot of them convinced that there was an election call this weekend. They didn't want to be told otherwise. To be quite frank I'd just as soon the Prime Minister made a decision one way or another with respect to whether it will be before or after the summer holidays. I feel like I'm spinning my wheels and I can't afford to sit here without a wage coming in either. A lot of the other Returning Officers are feeling the same kind of pressure. Keeping the opposition and the media off-balance maybe a good strategy and lots of fun for the ruling party but our families deserve to eat too.

Oh well guess I should be thankful for the beautiful weather and just wait for things to unfold. There may be a time when I really wish I had this break again. Right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats