Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:56 a.m. - 2004-04-15
Busy-ness
I know I was busy all day dear diary, but I can't account for all the time. Yet here I am an hour later than usual trying to still be coherent. Let's see. I talked with the City Census office - could I put recruiting notices in their workers' material. They've just finished their yearly undertaking so we won't be stealing staff. The bonus for us is we get people who have great training and recent knowledge of the areas we need to register voters in. Not a problem. Well, maybe just the creation of 800 application forms so that they can be distributed. That wasn't difficult either other than the time involved, except for figuring out a contact protocol. I don't want to take phone calls for 800 workers who will be distributed all over the city. One of the other Returning Officers suggested using my fax number since it isn't traceable to my home address. That works for me. I'll collect all the info then pass it on when the writ is dropped.

One staff member dropped by with some material and we had a brief chat. Any word on the timing. None. There is a new announcement up on Elections Canada's website elections about a by-election scheduled for Ottawa at the end of November this year. That gave me pause for a minute, until I recalled that the Canada Elections Act sets a deadline for scheduling a by-election once a seat is left empty. Since it is statutory it must be posted whether it is believed an election will be called or not. Checked with another Returning Officer just to be sure. No other clues forthcoming - just a lot of speculation.

Sent information to one RO for a staff member she needs to hire and talked to another one about resume and personnel assessment. I get a Human Resources e-zine that had a really comprehensive approach in the last issue so I sent that to him. He sent some posters he had created for the Getting Out the Youth Vote in exchange. We all build together using our own talents. Talked to a young lady I want working on my team and set up a time for her to come sign on.

I did a lot of research by web, phone and e-mail on things government and bureaucratic. Not a lot to show yet - just the groundwork for later initiatives. Each phone call took an hour although it only rendered one useful piece of information. Research is often just that. Digging gems out of a pile of irrelevancies. Talked with some of my sons and their friends - exchanges of information, mutual support network really. I'd meant to watch Whale Rider and get my exercises done by now but neither has been acheived so I'd best go dear diary while I've still got a bit of energy left.

For your reading pleasure I'll leave you with this link from NASA Sedna. There appear to be some very unusual properties being exhibited by this most recently located planet(oid).

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats