Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:07 p.m. - 2004-04-12
Hear and Say
Oops. Did you say something, dear diary. I got caught up in a debate being carried out by ordinary citizens from all over the world in the webpages of the BBC.CO. The topic? How to deal with the events now exploding in Iraq and if it is possible recoup some solid progress. A lot of thoughtful, albeit very diverse, ideas. commentary. Join in, if you wish. I think I see eye to eye with the Finns, although I wouldn't agree that the thrust of the terrorist drive is from Iran. They are just a convenient and willing vehicle. Remember Iran and Iraq were locked in a vicious war for a decade. The universal backing of Saddam Hussein by western governments against the regime of the Ayatollah Khomeini dates from that time. That was the reason that he became entrenched in power in Iraq. Was he any different then than he was a year ago? No.

One of the most thoughtful observations repeated sporadically throughout the pages of discussion was "that those who are ignorant of the past are condemned to repeat it" That had multiple facets of meaning and insight. Interesting. Before you dive in to the debate though, dear diary, it would be instructive to read this weblog which is being written by a witness in Iraq. Hard to hear a lot of the details, but they are the ones that are often missed by the media. At the very least you will hear news of some of the humanitarian workers. The writer knows them and touches base with them to find out how they are. eyewitness. About 5 this evening I was working on some election preparation and suddenly felt frantic about the well-being of the female hostage from Japan. There are comments about her in the journal too. Talking about her as she actually was - someone helping the children hurt in this madness.

On a lighter note, I went to this Australian astrology site just to see if the "down-under" prognosticators perhaps see the future through different eyes. Aussierules. The site was quite interesting. The Aussie rules: I'm talking about what Australians call football - basically a brawl with no rules whatsoever on the field. Closer to rugby or lacrosse I think. I was on the phone at one point today with a mom who drops everything to watch their games. She expressed shock at one point and I asked her what was wrong. She said "Well all the players are fighting" I responded "But they always do that, it's just like hockey here - if you can't beat them, kill them." Her comeback was "No! They're fighting off the field - they never do that." Whatever. Must be because tempers are way out of whack, what with all the scandals going on about various players and the criminal charges that are being racked up.

The work today? Two more staff came by to get their paperwork in order and to swear (their oaths) at me. The cats were the entertainers. At one point I was rubbing the usually queenly Ms Chesire Cat's tummy. Something she rarely condescends to allow. She was loving it. Glanced across the bed - my new bed which the felines have claimed as theirs - and started to laugh. Our very own Mr Trinity was on his back, all four legs in the air, tongue hanging out of his mouth, with eyes that said "Me too, me too" mewing softly as he waited. Now Mr T is about double the size of his sisters. Topside he is a classic grey and black striped tabby. His belly though, minus the legs, looks like a very big salmon - his chin about the size of a fish's head. Orange and cream colouring. with brown v shaped patterns equally dispersed down both sides of midline. Who could resist him. Anyway that's my story for today and I'm sticking with it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats