Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:41 p.m. - 2004-04-08
Polity
All I did was work today - mostly recruiting more staff and verifying instructions from Ottawa. I told one of the people I was talking with that I really want to go back to work downtown. I just want to feel "normal" again. I miss the people watching I get to do when I ride the transit system and spring is one of the best times for walking downtown - watching the river thaw and all the growing life along the riverbank.

In the e-zines today three interesting sites with science tidbits. Another erupting sunspot means more electromagnetic interference on earth including the Northern Lights starting today. aurora The other story out of NASA is about a technology that has been used to monitor astronauts will soon be readily available to more earthbound individuals. It's called the black box and it measures all one's vitals and then relays them back. It would be very helpful for people in frail health. They could be "watched" without having their freedom or independence compromised by being forced to stay in hospital, for example. homepage. The final site had really interesting pieces about the upcoming eclises, the Venus transit of the sun, and information on the visible planets in the night sky right now. Great photos too. skylights

Two stories of opposite choices were somewhat instructive. This story about a woman who refused a caesarian meant to save the life of one of the twins she was carrying was sad and frustrating to read. caesarian This other story tells of a woman in Mexico who was so afraid for the safety of the child she was carrying, that she performed a caesarian on herself without even any pain killers. I've had surgery without pain killers by using a meditation technique that some Buddhists use. However, I didn't have to make any incisions in my own body or deal with trying to remove a baby and care for it - I just laid there concentrating on the meditation itself. This woman has my fullest respect although I have to question her choice regardless. Mexico_health. Then again, I don't know all the details that drove her or the first woman to such extremes, so I guess I have no right to judge either of the women in question.

One story nationally that intrigued me was a request by more than half the elected House of Commons petitioning our Prime Minister to meet with the Dalai Lama. The argument being used to refuse that, is that it might affect out trading relationship with the Peoples Republic of China. Quite frankly I thought our foreign policy was driven by making decisions based on our values as a country, not on what is expedient or profitable. I'm really diasppointed that that even has to be said. If we were invaded as a country, would we want other countries to ignore our existence or our plight, because it might cost them some contracts with the invader? Does the golden rule only apply when it is without risk? dalai_lama

Two more stories of complementarity. The first reports on a meeting held in Seattle between residents and the Homeland security people. The residents were expressing more fear about the homeland people's activities than about any "foreign" influence. security. Contrast that with this story about the Israelis finding nearly 80 more tunnels used for gun running leading to Egypt from the Gaza strip. tunnels Even though Israel is surrounded by countries that are still swearing to destroy it, they do not suppress their own citizens' freedoms - instead they focus on defending themselves against the terrorists. They have done that for nearly 60 years now. Not only that, but their own citizens are the greatest critics or monitors of the behaviour of their military and foreign policy. The peace groups within their community call their forces to account, whenever they find out about human rights violations against the Palestinians who are caught unwillingly in the conflict created by their "Brothers", not realizing that they are simply viewed as disposable pawns.

The final story that really piqued my interest was about the production of mercury from coal burning facilities in the US and the toxic effect it has on unborn children especially. I've written in earlier posts, dear diary, about my concern about the development of coalbed methane extraction facilities that has become the priority of our provincial government. So much so, that they have ordered the shutting down of 200 clean burning gas extraction wells in one small area, in order to facilitate the development and extraction of the oil from the coal beds. mercury. As I've also noted before, dear diary, I'm not certain that greenhouse gasses should be the first pollutant that is targetted for reduction - there are significantly more toxic substances being forcefully injected into our air, because of the greed of a very few people or companies with powerful connections. At this point it isn't even an issue of having to find a way to stop the mercury pollution, it is just a matter of resolving not to START it.

Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats