Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:38 a.m. - 2004-03-23
Devil in the Details
Not a lot to talk about today. Continued on working on election preparation. E-mails, faxes, and phone calls. Analyzing some of the new data sent my way.

Got a phone call from one of the workers I had last election - a very nice lady who really anchored her team. She wanted to know if she could work for me again even though she's now in a different riding. I explained that I can hire her for a few positions but most have to be given to people who live in the riding according to the legislation. The idea of peers being that they are those people who live in your geographic neighbourhood. When taking oaths and signing documents, which almost everyone will do during the course of the event it is deemed essential that only peers undertake that responsibility. I'll need to see what I can do.

I actually spent three hours reading a book - a fiction book,without any purpose but to enjoy the story. I can't really recall the last time I did that. For the record it is "The Firm" by John Grisham. It was recommended in an unusual way and I'm still thinking on that.

I found a websiteThought that contains a listing of scientific publications free to the public. The intent of the members is to ensure that there is a free exchange of scientific study and ideas. One doesn't realize until one wants to find information on a topic how much censoring goes on by governments and publishers. These scientists deem we are old enough to think through and draaw our own conclusions about issues. Gosh being treated like a fully fetched up adult.

A troubling little story in the Chinese press about a stand off between the navies of the British and the Argentinians off the Falkland/Malvina Islands. They actually had a limited war over access in 1982. This seems to be about who can fish where. Why is it flaring up now?

I read the astrology column in our local newspaper and felt compelled to e-mail the author, because they mentioned that Mercury influence is retrograde right now. Actually it is still moving forward against the horizon. It is Pluto that is going to retrograde over my ascendent starting the end of the week and I think that will be more than enough to deal with, thank you very much. The columnist replied that their observation has been that the effects of a retrograde can be felt up to two weeks prior to the actual event, but then the same could be said when a planet is retrograde that some of the influences will feel as though the planet has already gone direct. It's a very zen, yin-yang thang, where the seeds of one are always contained in the other. I appreciated that this author took the time to respond to me and was willing to share her perspective with me though, that's very unusual. She is also very witty. Georgia

I think I still prefer the astrofish Kramer column most though. Part of the reason is that the writer has such a very different lifestyle and perspective on things, being from another country and being male. Sometimes we miss really obvious clues, because we are usually among people who are quite a bit like us. I often see a whole different side of an issue or an aspect by reading his analysis of them. He can also be awfully funny, in a fun house mirror kind of way. Besides that there's more to him than meets the reader's eye and I still haven't been able to figure it out. I love puzzles.

Anyway it's time for litterbox duty before exercising. Night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats