Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:50 a.m. - 2004-03-20
Technicalities
Number four son called in the early afternoon today. He was out with his new girlfriend and they had lost their bearings. She wanted to spend their time together at our major Museum - the Glenbow. I was delighted to direct them. I think I like this young lady.

There was an interesting article today about who influences who among bloggers - it's not what one would expect. One of the reasons the authors posit it is hard to track is because a lot of bloggers don't cite where their information comes from properly. I thought about that a bit in the contest of the sites I linked to that spoke of the medicinal plant Iboga. I had made a rambling tour through several linked sites with other purposes in mind when I came upon the subject. Should I cite each link I went through? Most times I'm not certain I could trace it back because it wasn't purposeful. One of the sites I linked to was found another two layers below the original link for iboga - how doe sone cite that? Other times I've received newletters that give a synopsis of a story that links to another site which has more information but is still not the original article cited. Sometimes one has to pass through three or more layyers to get to the original author. Does one cite all the intervening links when it is the original story one wants to convey information or comment about? AAnyway for what its worth here is the original blog story blog_influence

More interesting stories about celestial events today too. A video of the asteroid that came so close to earth that some one could capture it on film asteroid. Another link about the transit by Venus of the sun's surface in late May and early June -apparently it is extremely rare. venus_transit The focus of the site is to offer a tour to the Mediterranean to get the best view. What with two comets due to travel past earth in May and two eclipses as well it could be a very interesting time indeed.

Today extended discussion with two other Returning Officers each with different technical issues to work through. I had to call and book a storage unit for the 84 cu ft of boxes being sent to our homes. With the call of the election so up in the air I decided I didn't want to risk having my home filled with all that stuff for an unlimited engagement. Truth be known I want to ship more things out of my house not the reverse. A lot ofreading between the lines today in some of the communications we received. Politics isn't just a game politicians play is it?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats