Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:57 p.m. - 2004-03-14
Swimming
I was perusing the newspaper this morning, when I suddenly realized that I was looking at a very familiar face on the "Society" page. It was one of my cousins and his partner. They were attending a fund-raising gala for the "Decidedly Jazz" performance group. What next? They looked great and very relaxed for newly minted parents. Their first son was born at the beginning of January and weighed over 10 lbs. When I was talking with my cousin, six weeks ago, his partner was still at the "if you ever touch me again..... " stage. 30 some hours of labour and a c-section, no doubt.

It was kind of synchronous in a way too. When we last spoke, my cousin was telling me about his trip to Spain. He had gone on his own because his partner was traveling elsewhere on business - she markets wines. He is an architect and wanted to study the buildings in Madrid. He had commented that he really wanted to go back and spend more time there soon. When the news about the bombings aired, I had a moment of concern, wondering if fate had taken him there at that time and then remembered that he said he'd wait until his son and partner were both more comfortable with their new lives.

Dreaming has been odd lately. In one sequence it was partly like some kind of team competition and partly like someone was measuring and grading every single action I took, being interwoven in the vignettes. Defining each action in terms that showed a decided lack of understanding of what I was actually doing too for the "personal assessment". I wasn't once asked to explain what I was doing, but I was being judged by people who seemed to feel they had some authority to impose themselves on my life. They even laid out a graph with their values along one axis and my activities along another axis. It was just strange. I decided in the dream that their opinion had no importance in my future choices, because they were willfully choosing to remain ignorant of what was really occurring. In some ways that is a smart way to live one's life because one can never please everyone anyway. The problem is that some individuals and groups give themselves permission to act on their misperceptions to your disadvantage or discomfort even though they have no right to do so. It was just a dream - right?

This story about a new planet being found by a team of astronomers in California - 2 billion miles away from Pluto. They're naming it Sedna after an Inuit deity - a fierce female ocean ruler, not unlike Tethys of European origin I think. Sedna. Interesting shift in focus.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats