Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:53 p.m. - 2004-03-12
Fiduciary Follies
Another aggravating day dear diary. Remember I mentioned the payroll problems I had over my assistant's pay on Monday? Well, nothing at that time was conveyed to my Automation Co-ordinator about any problems with her payroll information. Today she received a pay statement where deductions of taxes and CPP and EI were indicated, with a cheque attached which had 'void' in the amount section. There was no deposit in her bank account either. She just got out of the hospital today from surgery and was quite distraught that someone would do something that mean-spirited to her. I called my assistant to see if he had received his pay. He said he wasn't certain but he'd check. If this is how badly finance operates before an election, I am really worried about how my staff are going to be treated once the crunch hits. The problem is that if one comes back too forcefully with a response it may make things even worse when you don't have time to call them and do the extra paperwork each time they mess up. How does one begin?

My Dad had come by yesterday so I could do his taxes on-line and we discussed the labour issues and strategies while I was keying away. He thinks I should use the political route, but right now I can't because it would compromise the position I hold - undue influence in some ways. Maybe the Office of the Privy Council though, Elections Canada reports to them, so that would be the only logical entity to intervene I think.

I did start calling to get the contact names for the political parties and the MP. I want them to have as much information as I can give them now so that they have time to work with it. Less problems down the road if they feel they've been given their say and have seen that their concerns are addressed. Ottawa was supposed to have provided those names to us but they seemed to be almost frozen with details so with permission acquired yesterday I'd rather just move ahead.

My oldest came by with the grandbabies today. He brought his Latin books with him. One of the weblogs I read has a person with a Renaissance type of personality. He had posted several quotes in Latin - the original language in which they were written. I had been able to figure out two and I was guessing at a third, but the fourth quote had me completely stumped. My son enjoyed the challenge though. His marks in both German and Latin were always in the +90% range - too bad the same couldn't be said of some of his other subjects. Sagittarian to the max that one.

I found this article about information storage in electronic form quite interesting. It's one of the things that has always worried me - with the rapid changes in technology, software and hardware are obsolete almost as soon as they hit the market. There is already a lot of data that can not be retrieved or where the cost to do so is so prohibitive that it is almost as good as lost. efiles. Don't know. Why did it catch my eye today? Well it doesn't look as though the election will be called as soon as first anticipated and, quite frankly I need to be earning a living in between. Given the way Election Canada's finance people are operating I can't count on being paid any time soon even though my assignment is completed and I am entitled to be compensated. I think I'll be calling and asking for work starting Monday. Reza por me, por favor.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats