Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:09 p.m. - 2004-03-06
Spring Thaw
I hadn't finished my entry this afternoon dear diary, but my Dad arrived bearing a gift. One of his neighbours wanted to get rid of a queen size bed so he brought it here. I've always had a mattress that was fine, but never the trappings to go with that - you know headboard and a pedestal. It has built in dresser drawers too. That one item caused a major shifting of furniture all over the house. My number four son got my queen size bed. Number six son got a stereo unit. The cats got three filing cabinets to go with their computer. Extended discussion about redistribution of other pieces isn't over yet. I have a couple of more full days of work on the election assignment, then I think I'm going to buy a big box of garbage bags and just go through everything in my room tossing out papers and mementos from long ago - it's time to move on.

Continuing the elections story. When my assistant called last night, he mentioned that he too had come under pressure from a provincial political body. They wanted him to actively work on a campaign - absolutely verbotten (forbidden) under our contracts. The parties know that, but they always will try for that extra edge. Unfortunately, there are some Election Officials who believe that they are immune from those regulations and carry on within the party of their choice anyway. It makes it difficult for us to explain our responses, but being in a leadership position - even if it is only for a short while - means leading by example. I finished up the spreadsheets I was working on yesterday and am starting a spreadsheet next for personnel for the office. I can't hire anyone yet, but I can talk to potential staff and think about the teams I want. I need to have my leaders in place and in the know at the very least. If they have a sense of commitment to the process, that will certainly filter down to the staff on the front lines too.

I found this article on global warming quite interesting. It's about the rapid melting of polar ice in the past decade or so. It does cause concern, but there is an ebb and flow in climatology that covers centuries. There is excellent information that covers the past 100 years, less before that. The surmise could be that it is greenhouse gasses and depletion of the ozone that are causing the problem. There was no assessment of the impact of substantially increased commercial and residential activity yet, but that has to be factored in as a major consideration. Identifying that there is a significant change is important, but identifying the real source before trying to resolve the degradation of that environment is critical to whether it is a success or just makes things worse. Melting.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats