Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 p.m. - 2004-03-04
Planning
Jupiter and the moon are hugging each other in the constellation of Leo tonight. Tomorrow the two move into Virgo and the moon is full. This story from NASA gives the details. Convergence With even a small telscope one will be able to see four of Jupiters moons because of it's relative closeness to our planet right now.

Today was another really busy one. I spent a couple of hours with one team of provincial election officials. They'll be working in my office in order to learn more about the process since it is something they haven't done before. I'm feeling quite a lot of pressure from one political entity right now. For whatever reason it seems that they are determined to fill up my office with their adherents - they are demanding I place their people in key positions of power - not. I administer elections on behalf of the electors. We work very hard to be as non-partisan as is possible. The group in question aren't even a Federal entity so I don't understand the reason for the insistence - that makes me a bit nervous. Maybe they think a show of "force" or "strength" now will enhance their chances for the upcoming provincial election rumoured now to be coming maybe in the fall.

I also spent about an hour on the phone with one of my contacts in Ottawa. It was a very productive discussion for a change. I really liked the woman I was dealing with and it was interesting how much we had in common in terms of life experiences and values. I work with people from all different perspectives and I truly enjoy the mental stimulation that offers, but every once in a while it is nice to feel like you belong somewhere in the socio-political spectrum too. Lots of telephone messages came in today too. I guess that's my task for tomorrow - call everyone back and act on the agreements that Ottawa and I reached today.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats