Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 p.m. - 2004-03-03
Work
I have my dairy products delivered every Wednesday. Have had since we moved into this home. I was always able to find a way to pay the milkman so my guys had something healthy to eat even during the time when there was not enough to keep body and soul together when the boys' Dad left. It's always been a priority for me. Today was one of those rare days when it was so cold and windy in the corner of the step that the milk poured out as chunks of ice. It took most of the morning to get it to a liquid state.

It ws odd this weekend - on Sunday I had a period where I felt really stressed and overwhelmed yet there is nothing in my life right now to account for it. Yes cash flow is a problem but I know it's coming - the only trick is to survive in the meantime. What is coming? Well - I still haven't received pay for the week in Ottawa and I won't be paid for this project until mid month next month at the earliest. I filed my tax return last week and I have a refund coming there too. So I pay the milkman because that is a priority and some of the other bills will have to wait until the cheques come in. Frustrating but I can't push the river. Hmmmmmmm.

I did have a moment of great temptation just before lunch though. A recruitment agency I had talked with in January called with a job offer - permanent full time - work conditions sounded ideal. It really gave me pause. I love working elections but how long am I willing to have to compromise every other part of my life to accommodate the antics at Elections Canada. I don't know. I did finally turn it down but I did ask if there was any chance that the hiring process would take a couple of months - that's not unheard of in a number of cases. Maybe the opportunity will still be there after the spring election - if there is one. Still no word on that because of the scandal playing out yet.

Spent most of the day talking with or e-mailing differnet RO's in Calgary. Just providing them with short cuts and access to information that they might not stumble on otherwise. We just got a new field liaison officer to run interventions for us with Ottawa. Turns out we were co-volunteers for years - just name changes obscured that fact initially. We had a good laugh about it. She asked me to take the newest appointee under my wing until she could get up to speed herself. I spent several hours talking with him. He was delightful to talk with because his perspective on life is very much removed from my everyday experience. He is a musician by profession. A bass player with the emphasis on Swing. We talked about some of my favorite female singers. He loves their music and composes and arranges his own. He said he also taught film studies at our tech. We spent a lot of time comparing notes on environmental issues too. Easy to enjoy working with someone who shares so many of ones own interests.

So the day flew by and I know I was always busy trying to do three things at once - Ottawa called too asking for information so I guess I could say the day was productive - just don't have anything physical to show for it. Leaves me feeling a little off balance. Oh well.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats