Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:38 a.m. - 2004-02-24
Attenuation
I just got off the phone with number three son. Just late night "I can't sleep" sort of chit chat. He was trying to explain text messaging and instant messaging to me. Elections Canada has supplied each Returning Officer with a cell/messaging unit so that they can find us anywhere and anytime should the Prime Minister decide to surprise us with an early election call. I have invested in voice mail so people can't find me unless I want them to. Too many years of volunteering has too many people assuming they have a right to whatever time and service they demand of me. Not any more. My son was text messaging his buddy in Vancouver while we were talking, carrying on their own conversation and yet also building on the conversation I had been having with his buddy not even an hour before, with the process reversed - my son texting him and a three way/two way conversation being carried out. Now, I wonder what would happen if we were all in the same room at the same time. Those boys would probably both head for a keyboard to "talk" anyway.

Spent a lot of today still fighting with computer glitches. This time the PC was "hijacked" by some computer trojan called "incredifind". It took the anti-spyware and a couple of hours of rooting through the database to get rid of all the "hooks". The spybot program ousted it from the root directory. Frustrating and wasteful. I needed to e-mail details of some of my election work to different service providers, so I could complete parts of my assignment. The trojan blocked off all internet access so I couldn't send anything until the end of the day.

I did use the phone as much as I could. The printer is copacetic with arrangements for printing the ballots and so are both school boards with respect to renting their schools for polling places. I sent some financial documentation by snail mail, because the original signatures had to be on them.

The new printer won't do what I've needed it to do either - the old one they replaced did,I think I want it back. My son's buddy in Vancouver was helping me troubleshoot the new beast during our conversation - I need the material for my Revision Supervisor now or she can't move forward with her tasks. The other part of our discussion was to help him with time and project management. We developed a spreadsheet between us that seemed to work for him. So I guess the bottom line is that I did get a lot done, but it took twice as long as it should have.

So now, is that natal Pluto oppose transiting Mercury conjunct natal Mercury or the early wobbles of Saturn going direct in another week. I don't know. I pulled the coyote card for the month of March - the trickster in aboriginal archetypes. I think it could be an interesting month. I decided to ignore all that and focus on the planetary action outside my window. The Moon and Venus in close harmony in the West in the velvety black night sky. I think I'll focus on absorbing any of the energy they send out together. Num yo ho - reng gei kyo.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats