Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:35 a.m. - 2004-02-22
Day by Day
There has been an air quality advisory in effect since I got home over a week ago. A fire in the landfill of the Tsuu T'sina reservation just south and west of Calgary is the reason. The advisory was just lifted this afternoon. I haven't been out walking although the weather is fabulous because of the effects on my lungs. Hopefully, now exercise and walking can be returned to my daily routine. I hate being so inactive.

More work on election responsibilities today. Called the printer with some new specifications. Spent some time with my Revision Supervisor. She is the one who will head up the team that registers people to vote either at the office or going door to door. I was trying to print off the online maps I had created but the new technology that was installed yesterday doesn't seem to be able to capture the data. Some maps printed off beautifully while others would only come out half complete. Odd since the maps were all created with the same techniques and all produced within a few days of each other. I'll have to read the manual I guess - what a concept. Called another landlord with property near the airport. Not as easy to get to but more suitable than any other space I've come acros and probably less expensive. Went through some more of the paperwork that I prepared last assignment. Trying to reduce the repetition of work already done even though its in a different format. I guess I shouldn't care since I get paid for it - at least I hope they'll pay all the hours invested instead of just some this time - but it is still a waste of taxpayers money, including mine. I'm more conscious of that as tax season rears its head.

Watched the movie about Tina Turner tonight - "What's Love Got to do With It" - she's someone I've always admired and thought of as a good role model. I read that she was going to play a Hindu goddess in an upcoming movie produced out of Bollywood - India's answer to Hollywood. I actually enjoy a lot of their productions - we can get some on our tv channels at strange hours of the day. Their music videos are pretty entertaining too and I love the dance scenes. One of their movies using one of our large shopping malls was shot here near our communities, I think because there is a large East Indian community here that is quite pro-active. Anyway I'm looking forward to the release of the film. It should be fun to watch.

Came across an interesting website while surfing today that covers good literature from around the world translated into English. The intent is to broaden one's appreciation of literary talent. words_without_borders. It seems to be worth a try anyway. In addition, NASA has some fascinating photos of what happens when a star comes too close to a blackhole blackhole. Time for bed I think - the cats are all sitting on the monitor staring at me - I think that's a hint.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats