Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 p.m. - 2004-02-17
Speculation
This evening a sudden sense of calm fell over me. That hasn't happened in a long while. It's as though one is finally back on the right path. Comforting I think. Or it could just mean that the stage is set and all one can do is play out the scene. Either way worrying isn't necessary anymore.

I just rested most of today. When I arrived home it seemed that I was in demand constantly by one person or another. Nothing really taxing just constant activity or attention. It didn't bother me except that my lungs are really letting me know that I need to attend to them now, before everyone else. Don't need hospital visits right now so I'm paying attention to what the body is saying. I did spend some time talking with the Returning Officer whose riding abuts mine on the West. She isn't all that comfortable with the software we've been given to do the next round of assignments so she wanted some coaching. She also wanted to know if I could give her some of the info that I had collected on the area before part of my riding was merged into hers - yes not a problem. I enjoy talking with her because she is so upbeat and no-nonsense. On the other hand I avoided talking to one of the other RO's who is always negative or demanding and ditto with one person who was staff last election. I deserve some positive time and people around me. I think that does more good for one's health than anything else.

Interesting stories today? Another wall being constructed between countries. This time Thailand is putting up a barrier to Malaysian insurgents Thais. There seems to be a trend developing here. Walls didn't work during World War II so I don't understand the rationale now but then I'm not a military strategist either. A thousand years from now it would be interesting to be a fly on archaeologists walls listening to their theories on why they were constructed though. Speaking of archaeology, the next story is about the discovery of a viking boat in England - the first ever in the area of York Hmmmmmmmmm Vikings. Given my ancestry I'm beginning to wonder how much is actually rooted in the island and how much actually came from Northern Europe. Given my pasty skin and the inability to tan at all it would be reasonable to guess quite a bit of genetics might go back to the invaders. Who knows. There was a brief reverie today where I was looking at my feet and I seemed to be lazing in a tropical sun watching with great pleasure as my skin slowly became a soft tan. Never know I guess. Last story has been an item of vigorous debate in the astrophysics forum I visit from time to time - what is dark energy, does it truly exist and if so what then? Darkforce. This speculation is a bit wild for me but will I care a billion years from now if they're correct? Probably not. Interesting anyway though.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats