Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:16 p.m. - 2004-02-18
assignment
I was woken this morning by a gentle patting on my face. Opened my eyes and there was Ms Ficus with her nose almost presed up against mine, her paw delicately draped over my eyes - claws retracted. Now we lock the babies up in the nursery at night, because they are just too mischievious to be left unsupervised for several hours while we sleep. I had a moment where I thought I must be dreaming, because the reality just didn't fit my expectations. Next question was, ok so if I'm awake, how did the cats manage to get out of their room? Checked on my young men and eliminated the possibility they had opened the door. So the mystery never was addressed. I had set the alarm for the early morning so I could head off to the lab - maybe the felines hated the music so much they collectively were able to force open the door. Ok, dumb idea, but I don't have any others. The only comfort was that the kittens and Ms Kitty looked as disoriented by the circumstances as I was. They aren't used to waking up in the dark.

Dressed quickly, but missed two busses trying to find my darned boots. I'd forgotten I'd left them out on the back porch after taking out the garbage. I was eyeing my runners wondering if I would be able to manage the sheets of ice that cover the concrete sidewalks right now in the middle of spring melting, when my youngest recalled the trip out the back for me. Hauled my boots on and headed off. My feet nearly froze since the leather had been permeated by the icy night air, but I won't lose the lesson about shoes for the next few years hence, I think. Trip to the lab for my x-ray took just one hour round trip, even though I walked to the community feeder bus stop on the way home, rather than messing with the train and the connections that would have been necessary otherwise. Popped into the grocery store in my community, since the cupboard was completely bare, and then into the post office to pick up more mail before going home. Another hour gone. I had called my chiropractor to ask if he could work on me with a collapsed lung since my back is quite sore. He said he'd like to know the outcome of the x-ray first - fair game. Hope the lab calls soon with the results.

Worked through some of the software and programs Elections Canada wants us to use for our assignments. Hmmmmmm. Two of the other Returning Officers can't even get into theirs so I guess I should count myself lucky. One of the ROs has been waiting for two days now for the techs in Ottawa to figure out why she can't log in to their intranet. She's really frustrated. I talked with three of my staff just updating and nailing down tasks. No real "paper" to show for the day but a lot under control. The Post Office representative called for more details on the mail mix up. I don't think he heard what he hoping to, but that isn't something that I can help with.

Tried out the new exercise video that I ordered from Chapters.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats