Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:09 p.m. - 2004-02-08
Flight
Today has already been quite an adventure. Bear with me though dear diary, I'm working on a hotel internet connection that I'm not all that familiar with.

Arrived at the airport an hour early, me and two of my staff. Tried the Express check-in. It didn't work, but because we were willing volunteers for the new service, the attendant waved us over to that counter anyway. I had to show my divorce certificate because I've gone back to using my maiden name. Both of the names were on the reservation, but oh well. New security measures - right?

Next up, my automation co-ordinator tried to check in - she wasn't in the system. Now all the details on her electronic ticket were correct and I had confirmed all three of us a few days back. The problem? Someone had keyed her last name in incorrectly. She wasn't allowed to board, even after I called the government's travel agency's emergency number. The Air Canada staff were trying to help, but there was nothing they could do until she was rebooked. That line was not moving at all. The travel agency just complained about having to now pay full price. To this time she still hasn't checked into the hotel. When I called the front desk, I checked to confirm they had her registered correctly - remember I had confirmed that online last week too - and it was fine. Worried, but I don't have any options but to wait for her call - hope it comes soon.

The airport staff told my assistant and I we would have to go because our luggage had already been processed, something that we had consented to because we had been assured by them that she would be allowed on our flight. Flights can't leave with luggage on board if the passenger they belong to doesn't also board. Got to the gate with about 15 minutes to spare. Long line ups, but moving fast. One flight attendant shoved in front of everyone else claiming she was very late and then set off the security alarms so that eveything slowed to a crawl. I finally reached the 'doorway' and I set the alarm off too. 'Well ma'am what have you got on that's metal.' Turned out it was the metal aglets on my boots. 'Take them off please'. Well it could have been worse.

Got seated and waited for over 45 minutes for the airplane to be defrosted. The airplane had iced over with the 2 inches of snow we weren't supposed to get last night. Fine. I was seated by the wing. One of the gentlemen across the aisle hit the emergency button just as we started to taxi. He pointed to the wing and noted that there was a lot of ice on the stabiliser. I turned to my seat mate - who also is a Returning Officer - and asked what effect that would have. His response is that we would likely get airborne and then all of a sudden lose altitude, because the airplane couldn't maintain it's lighter than air status. Waited patiently, with gratitude toward that passenger, for the operation to be completed.

Have to go now. further adventures later.

Now it's later. I called Air Canada to see if I could track where my automation co-ordinator was, after talking with my assistant and the front desk about the best way to go about it. The hotel staff were very helpful. Turns out her plane just landed about an hour ago - 5:15 pm. Her flight was supposed to have left 45 minutes after ours, but it had a stop over in Toronto. So even though we all started out at the same time, she arrived 3 hours later than we did. I called and left a voicemail with the agency responsible for arranging the travel and training since no one was there. I told them I expected them to apologize to my AC especially since this was her first experience working with EC at this level. I also asked them to reconfirm our travel arrangements for when we return home.

Check in at the hotel was uneventful for the rest of us. So far I've ironed my clothes for the week, checked out the various services offered on site and unpacked. Called home, but my guys were out with their Dad and brothers so I'll try them later this evening.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats