Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:47 p.m. - 2004-02-07
Dreams and Things
All of a sudden the kittens and their Mom - Ms Kitty - were tearing around the house acting crazy. Then I heard soleful meows - coming from outside the house. Checked around and found the balcony door wider than I had left it. Did a head count and sure enough our warrior cat Ms Ficus was missing. Ms Ficus has a fascination with out there without any skills to survive it. Grabbed my long coat to hide my inside wear and jumped into one of the boys pairs of "Boats" excuse me - boots. I was thinking I could track her because her footprints would be visible in the snow surrounding the house. Me - the Tracker. Got around to the back of the house and found prints alright. Big ones. Turns out it was the Daddy cat trying to join his family for a visit rather than the other way around. Just to be certain I rushed back inside and found Ms Ficus calmly filling her tummy at the feline dining area. Phew.

Went out shopping with number one son for a while today. He knows where all the bargains are where food is concerned. I ended up spending about half of what I usually do - I was just picking up odds and ends for the boys and my trip. My youngest played with the grandbabies while we were out. Toys everywhere and very happy wee ones to boot. Number one and number six left with the babies shortly thereafter - I think my youngest was really enjoying the play time and wanted to continue for a while longer.

A number of interesting articles in my e-zines today. Freedom of speech and thought is always challenged in any society. Canada has censorship in terms of books allowed in libraries and schools just like every other country. There is a list of books that have been challenged by the general public re: suitability - some are quite surprising. Although the list is not close to being exhaustive it can be found here: Censored. This site also is a vehicle for defenders of freedom of expression. The editors are focussing their efforts right now on the fallout from an RCMP raid on a reporter's home with respect to a story she wrote on the detention and torture of a Canadian citizen in Syria. Want to talk to other book lovers about what they've read? This site is set up for just that. VirtualBookClub

Following on that note was a story in the NY Times about the systematic assassination of professionals living in Iraq by their own countrymen. Lawyers, doctors, judges and educators mostly. The most threatening people there are to any group that intends to oppress their own citizens. That is also typical of the work of the extremist Mullahs - those that are extreme fundamentalists and who believe that only they should rule Muslim countries, against their will. Murder.

Better in tone were a couple of articles about developments in astrophysics. This article talks about new technical applications of satellite technology by the University of Calgary. The research with the new satellite will occur in the high arctic and focus on issues like GPS and information transmission. NorthernLights. The other story was about what would happen if two galaxies collided bringing their black holes into close contact. Hmmmmmmmm. Blackholes. Odd sychronicity, maybe - that last time I woke up crying was the day before the Challenger exploded one year ago. The past two nights I've experienced the same thing - always while dreaming about positive things and always at about 3:30 AM. Don't know what to make of it. Maybe just a remembrance?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats